30.11.2007 NPP News

NPP presidential aspirants

NPP presidential aspirants
Listen to article

Mr. Daniel Kwaku Botwe
Professor Mike Ocquaye
Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku
Dr. Kwame Addo-Kufuor
Mr. Kwabena Agyei Agyepong
Captain Nkrabea Effah Dartey
Mr. Alan Kyerematen
Mr. Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey
Papa Owusu Ankomah
Mr. K. Boakye Agyrako
Vice President Alhaji Aliu Mahama
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Mr. Yaw Osafo-Maafo
Dr Kwabena Arthur Kennedy
Professor Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng
Mr. Hackman Owusu-Agyemang
Mr. Mohammed Musah
Mr. Felix Owusu Agyepong

Mr. Daniel Kwaku Botwe, Former Minister of Information and National Orientation and General Secretary of the Party; Reverend Professor Mike Ocquaye, MP for Dome Kwabenya and Former Minister of Communications and Energy; Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, MP for Ofinso North and Former Minister of Trade, Industry and President's Special Initiatives (PSI) were among the first to pick nomination forms.

The rest were; Dr. Kwame Addo-Kufuor, MP for Manhyia and Former Minister of Defence, Mr. Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, Former Presidential Spokesman and Press Secretary and Captain Nkrabea Effah Dartey (Rtd) MP for Berekum and Former Deputy Minister of the Interior.

Mr. Alan Kyerematen, Former Minister of Trade, Industry and PSI; Mr. Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey, Former Minister of Tourism and Diasporan Relations; Papa Owusu Ankomah, Former Minister of Education, Science and Sports; and Mr. K. Boakye Agyrako, a Banker also purchased their forms.

Nana Ohene Ntow, General Secretary of the party, who received and directed the procedure for the purchase of the forms, urged the aspirants to adhere to the party's code of ethics and guidelines for organizing campaigns before and during the December 22ND Special National Delegates Congress.

He said aspirants, their agents and supporters must desist from statements and acts of omission and commission that overtly undermined the NPP government, the President, unity and integrity of the party at the national, regional, local as well as international levels.

"Aspirants and their agents must desist from vilification of other contestants as it has been the tendency to set party leaders in conflict with each other… Violence and acts of intimidation shall have no place in the on-going campaign and all aspirants and their agents shall respect this rule,"
the General Secretary stated.

Nana Ohene Ntow reiterated a directive to party officers at the national, regional, constituency, polling station levels as well as overseas branches, Members of Parliament, Ministers of State, Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives to refrain from openly declaring support of any branch, constituency or organ for any individual Candidate or even campaign for him.

"Aspirants, party executives or their agents and delegates should refrain from what has become known as 'CAMPING' - depriving other contestants access to delegates so camped.
Sanctions shall be applied appropriately," he said.

The NPP General Secretary urged delegates to resist attempts or coercion by any of the aspirants to swear oath to secure favourable votes.

Other aspirants yet to purchase their forms are, Vice President Alhaji Aliu Mahama; Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, MP for Abuakwa and Former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and New Partnership For Africa's Development (NEPAD). Mr. Yaw Osafo-Maafo, MP for Akim Oda and Former Minister of Finance and Economic Planning and Education, Science and Sports; and Dr Kwabena Arthur Kennedy, a US-based medical practitioner.

The rest are Professor Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng, Heart Surgeon and Former Chief Executive Officer of Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital; Mr. Hackman Owusu-Agyemang, MP for New Juaben North and Former Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing and Mr. Mohammed Musah, a Former Central Regional Youth Organiser of the party, Mr. Felix Owusu Agyepong, Former Majority Leader and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter