Ghanaians enjoy visa-free travels to 46 countries as of March 2024 — VisaGuide Passport Index

Travel & Tourism Ghanaians enjoy visa-free travels to 46 countries as of March 2024 — VisaGuide Passport Index

The latest VisaGuide Passport Index report shows that Ghanaian passports provide visa-free entry to 46 countries worldwide.

While this access is strongest regionally in West Africa, it represents more modest mobility options globally compared to many other nations.

The March 2024 index from VisaGuide ranks passport power based on the number of visa-free destinations.

Ghana placed 144th out of 199 countries with a score of 20.91. This means Ghanaian passport holders can visit 46 countries without securing a visa in advance.

Within Africa, Ghanaians enjoy visa-free access to key regional partners like Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa and others.

However, on a continental scale, the Ghanaian passport has grown stronger than Nigeria (191st) and Cote d'Ivoire (179th).

Additional flexibility is offered through eVisas and visas on arrival for 36 more countries.

But to visit over 140 other nations, Ghanaians require visas in advance.

This includes major tourism and business hubs in places like Europe, North America, Asia, and elsewhere.

The VisaGuide report provides a snapshot of country’s visa situation globally relative to other passport holders.

As of March 2024, Ghanaian passport holders can travel visa free to 46 countries and territories:

  1. Bahamas
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Barbados
  4. Belize
  5. Benin
  6. British Virgin Islands
  7. Burkina Faso
  8. Cabo Verde
  9. Cook Islands
  10. Ivory Coast
  11. Dominica
  12. Fiji
  13. Grenada
  14. Guinea
  15. Guinea-Bissau
  16. Guyana
  17. Haiti
  18. Jamaica
  19. Kenya
  20. Kiribati
  21. Lesotho
  22. Liberia
  23. Mali
  24. Mauritius
  25. Micronesia
  26. Montserrat
  27. Niger
  28. Nigeria
  29. Niue
  30. Philippines
  31. Rwanda
  32. Samoa
  33. Senegal
  34. Sierra Leone
  35. Singapore
  36. South Africa
  37. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  38. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  39. Tanzania
  40. Gambia
  41. Togo
  42. Trinidad and Tobago
  43. Uganda
  44. Vanuatu
  45. Zimbabwe
  46. Eswatini

NB: Malawi, which recently entered a visa waiver agreement in Ghana was excluded from the list. The countries would have been 47.

For visa-free travel, travelers must have a valid passport that is usually valid for six months after the departure date. Additionally, travelers may be required to purchase travel health insurance, as determined by travelers' destination country.

Isaac Donkor Distinguished
Isaac Donkor Distinguished

News ReporterPage: IsaacDonkorDistinguished