FEATURED: True Descendants Of Ab-Ram Are Indeed In Ghana!!...

20.03.2009 Politics

President Mills calls for service of humility and distinction

Listen to article

President John Evans Atta Mills on Friday swore in the latest batch of Deputy Ministers approved by Parliament and reminded them to serve with humility and distinction.

He reiterated his message of humility to the appointees and urged them to assist the substantive Ministers and team up to work them and serve to the best of their abilities.

The Deputy Ministers were Mr Nii Nortey Duah for Youth and Sports; Mr Henry Kamel Ford for Lands and Natural Resources; Mr John Gyetuah, Trade and Industry; Ms Hawawu Boya Gariba for Women and Children's Affairs; Mr Moses Mabenga for Northern Region; Mr. Eric Opoku for the Brong Ahafo and Mr Cezario Kale for the Upper West Region.

They swore to the Oath of Allegiance, Oath of Deputy Minister and Oath of Secrecy, administered by the President.

The President presented the Instrument of Appointment to the Deputy Ministers and they also signed the Oath Books.

President Mills reminded the Deputy Ministers to remember the promise Government made to Ghanaians for which it was elected into office and serve to the best of their abilities to justify the confidence the people had reposed in them.

The President observed that the people of Ghana, like external examiners, would only renew the mandate of the Government and its appointees if they served with distinction.

“Let's ensure that we'll not only pass, but pass with distinction,”

President Mills said.
He congratulated the Deputy Ministers on their appointment, but cautioned them not to lord it over the people and prayed that they discharged their duties with the assistance of divine wisdom, grace and direction.

Dr Valerie Sawyerr, Deputy Chief of Staff, advised the appointees to be wary of undue influences.

She urged them not to waste time but be prompt and collaborate with colleague Deputy Ministers and Ministers in the discharge of their duties.

Mr Duah, who is also the Member of Parliament for Ledzokuku, on behalf of his colleagues expressed appreciation for the confidence the President and the people of Ghana had reposed in them and pledged to discharge their duties faithfully, diligently and responsibly.