ModernGhana logo
12.09.2019 Sports News

2019 Ghandour WISA-Omy TV Awards: 27 Individuals And 6 Teams To Be Honoured

By Sammy Heywood Okine and George Nipah
2019 Ghandour WISA-Omy TV Awards: 27 Individuals And 6 Teams To Be Honoured
LISTEN SEP 12, 2019

The 2019 Ghandour Women In Sports Association (WISA) / Omy TV Achievers Awards has been launched with a call by Ben Nunoo Mensah, President of the Ghana Olympic Committee (GOC) to encourage more females into sports administration and coaching.

He said there are only a few women on the executives of sports federations, and urged female athletes and the media in sports to step up to become leaders and part of the decision makers.

He commended all the nominees for 2019, and congratulated Madam Gloria Commodore for sustaining and improving the Ghandour / WISA Awards project.

Kwabena Yeboah, President of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) noted that some of their burden of recognizing and rewarding deserving sports women has been lifted by WISA and praised them for their efforts.

Miss Priscilla Obeng, representing Ghandour Cosmetics congratulated the winners and pledged her company’s support for beautiful sports ladies to rule their beauty with Ghadour products.

Other goodwill messages came from the National Sports Authority (NSA) Deputy Director General Abedu Wilson, WOSPAG President, Mrs. Joyce Mahama, Madam Gifty Anna Myers, former President of Ghana Rugby Union and Madam Elizabeth King of the Ghana Hockey Association and the GOC Women’s Commission.

The list of 2019 Ghandour WISA / Omy TV Awards winners include; Fitness Ambassador Beatrice Afful, Keep Fit Instructor of GAFKCA Patience Ofei, former national athletes Mercy Addy and Grace Armah, NSA Secretary Mrs. Enyonam Broom and Sports Supporter Abigail Twumasiwaa Okanta, founder of Achievers Club.

Others are 2019 African Games performers like high jump gold medalist Rose Yeboah, long jump silver medalist Grace Obour, weightlifting bronze medalist Winnifred Ntumy, fencer Kelsey Woname, multi talented Portia Adukwei Allotey, body builders Vanessa Kolokie, Victoria Agbeyeye, boxer Ramatu Quaye and Ghana Police Ladies handball coach Patience Borkor.

The rest are footballers Adizatu Kubrah Mustapha, Naomi Anima and Uwaisa Mawia.

Media practitioners to be honoured are Madam Kokui Hanson of Kwese TV, Juliet Bawuah of AWSS, Nana Akua Amankwa of TV3, Beatrice Laryea of Graphic Communications, Lawrencia Akosua Adjei of GTV Sports, Helga Gokah of Uniq FM, Angela Akua Asante of Triple A Media, Naa Amerley Quaye of NB Sports / Obonu Radio and Veronica Commey formerly of GNA and SWAG.

The teams to be awarded comprise GRA Royal Ladies Hockey Team, Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies, Ghana Taekwondo, Ghana Judo, Conquerors Rugby Team and the Die Hard Supporters Union.

The Awards ceremony comes off at the multipurpose court at the Accra Sports Stadium on Saturday September 28, 2019.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter