FEATURED: Breaking News: Amidu Resigns As Special Prosecutor Over Agyapa Deal Tr...

03.05.2011 NPP News

Four incumbent NPP MPs beaten in primaries

Listen to article

May 03, 2011
Koforidua, May 3, GNA - The dream of four incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Eastern Region to return to Parliament in 2012 had been shattered as they lost the party's primaries on Saturday.

The four are Prof Samuel Amoako of Abuakwa North who was defeated by the former MP for the area, Mr Joseph Boakye Danquah.

Mr Danquah got 297 votes as against two for the incumbent MP, Mr Kwasi Okyere Agyekum, obtained 603 votes to defeat Mr Asiamah Amankwah, MP for Fanteakwa, who obtained 352 votes.

Other defeated MPs are Ms Beatrice Bernice Boateng of New Juaben South, who obtained 161 votes, as against her main challenger, Dr Mark Assibey Yeboah who obtained 240 votes and Mr Oteng Adu, a former constituency first vice-chairman who had 110 votes.

Mr Amponsah Bosompem, MP for Akyem Swedru, lost to Mr Kwasi Amoah.

At Akropong constituency, the MP, Mr William Ofori Boafo, obtained 296 votes to defeat two other candidates, Mrs Mercy Bampoh Addo, former Minister of State at the Presidency, who had 137 votes and Mr Emmanuel Bekoe, polled 101 votes.

Other results were Lower Manya Krobo, Ms Dedo Dufie Agyarko, a former parliamentary candidate of the party in 2004, defeated her only challenger, Mr Samuel Tetteh Amlalo and at Suhum the incumbent MP, Mr Fredrick Opare-Ansah, defeated Mr Bryan Acheampong.

Nana Adjei Boateng, a former Municipal Chief Executive for New Juaben, emerged winner against Mr Samuel Kwasi Owusu-Annor in New Juaben North constituency, whiles Ms Esther Obeng Dapaah former Minister of Lands and Forestry, defeated two other candidates, Mr Osei Frimpong and Ms Grace Omaboe known as "Maame Dorkono" at New Abirem constituency.

Other results were at Asuogyaman, Mr Kofi Osei Ameyaw received 454 votes and Mr Samuel Ansah Asare 135 votes, at Kade, Mr Ofosu Asamoah, the incumbent MP, had 239 votes, Kwabena Ohemeng, 166, Alex Obeng seven, Collins Offei Minta 67, Ofori Ampofo 28 and Frimpong Owusu seven.

At Mpraeso, Ms Susana Mensah, former Deputy Eastern Regional Minister and Mr Joseph Gyimah lost to the incumbent MP and at Lower West Akyem; Ms Gifty Klenam the incumbent MP obtained 219 votes to beat Mr Kofi Sintim Aboagye, former District Chief Executive (DCE) for West Akyem, who got five votes and Mr Asamoah Adu who obtained 189 votes.

At Akyem Oda constituency, the MP, Mr Owusu Boateng, obtained 249 votes to defeat Mr William Agyepong Kwaitoo who got 194 votes and Mr Augustus Attafuah, 125 votes.

At Abetifi, the incumbent MP, Mr Wiafe Peprah, received 321 votes to defeat his only challenger, Mr Ntim Boateng, who got 216 votes and at Yilo Krobo constituency, Mr Christian Kofi Tettey, former DCE for the area, beat Mr Jonathan Semetey to become the parliamentary candidate for the party for the 2012 elections

The MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, Mr David Oppon-Kusi obtained 209 votes as against 76 votes obtained by Mr Victor Ahenkorah, former DCE for Abirem, Mr Emmanuel Asiedu got 65 votes and Mr Samuel Tufuor managed to get 16 votes.

Four MPs in the region Mr Dan Botwe of Okere, Dr Kofi Asare of Akwatia, Mr Samuel Attah Akyea of Abuakwa South and Mr Kwasi Amoako Attah of Atiwa were declared unopposed.


Modern Ghana Links