FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

20.03.2009 Politics

Council of State elects Chairman

Council of State elects Chairman

Prof. Kofi Awoonor has been unanimously elected as Chairman of the Council of State at an extra-ordinary session of the Council held at the Castle, Osu on Tuesday, March 17, 2009.

This follows the swearing-in of members of the fifth Council of State of the fourth Republic of Ghana by President John Evans Atta Mills.

The 25-member body excluded a former Chief Justice and the Greater Accra Regional representative whose election has been rescheduled.

The membership of the Council consists 11 members appointed by the President, 10 members elected to represent each Region, three members appointed by the President in consultation with Parliament and the President of the national House of Chiefs.

They are, Prof. Kofi Awoonor, Mrs Cecilia Johnson, Mrs Victoria Addy, Prof Akilagpa Sawyerr, Daasebre Kwebu Esusi VII, Mr Mahama Iddrisu, Nana Akuoko Sarpong, Otumfuo Baidoo Bonso XV, Hajia Hajara Musah Ali, Alhaji C.D.R Asoma Banda and Reverend Dr Nii Amoo Darku.

Elected members representing the Regions are, Mr George Kofi Dadzie – Western, Kpan-Naa Muhammed Baba Bawah – Northern, Very Rev Dr Jacob Kofi Ayeebo – Upper East, Naa Seidu Bhat Briamah – Upper West, Mr Ato Essuman – Central, Mr J.H. Owusu-Acheampong – Brong-Ahafo, Nana Asiama Poku Afrifa II – Ashanti, Osabarima Owusu Gyamadu II – Eastern and Dr Bernard Kwasi Glover – Volta.

Others appointed in consultation with Parliament are Lt Gen Arnold Quainoo (Rtd), former GOC/CDS, Mr Peter Tenganabang Nanfuri, former IGP and Wulugunaba Naa Prof John S. Nabila, President of the National House of Chiefs.