22.02.2008 CPP News

CPP Gears Up For Election 2008

By Daily Graphic
Listen to article

The Convention People's Party (CPP) is leaving no stone unturned to ensure that it realises its vision of rallying support for its presidential and parliamentary aspirants to win the 2008 election.In this direction, it had formally introduced its National Campaign Team, which is made up of former presidential and other national executive aspirants, as well as some leading members of the party, at a short ceremony at its headquarters in Accra yesterday.
The array of personalities, most of whom contested for the same positions during the party's congress last year, was a clear manifestation of the party's preparedness to form a united front for the 2008 election.
The occasion was also used to introduce the 13-member spokespersons for the party on various issues and the nine national committee chairpersons for the the separate committees.
With exception of Mr George Aggudey, all the other four aspirants are members of the National Campaign Team that would strategise to market the party's presidential aspirants and the parliamentary candidates.
The Chairman of the team is the First Vice Chairman of the party, Mr Eric Benyarko. The General Secretary, Mr Ivor Greenstreet is the Chairman of the National Parliamentary Campaign Team.
Other members of the team are Prof Agyeman Badu Akosa, Mr Bright Oblitey Akwetey, Dr Kwaku Osafo, Dr F.W.A. Akuffo, Mr Kwaw Ansah, Dr Al-hassan Abubakar and Ms Christian Baidoo.
The rest are Ms Kate Kankam, Mr Kosi Dedey, Mr Appiah Amankwah, Mr Ekow Duncan, Nana Dunfeh, Mr Abu Forgor and Mr Asare Bediako.
The spokespersons include Prof Agyeman Badu Akosa, Health, Education and Welfare; Dr Kwaku Osafo, Industry, Trade and Labour; Mr Bright Akwetey, Governanace, Parliamentary and Local Government; Dr Nii Moi Thompson Economic Affairs and Dr Abu Sakara for Agriculture and Rural Development.
The others are Mr Robert Woode, Environment, Natural Resources, Science and Technology; Wing Commander (Retd) Patrick Sogbordjor, Interior and Defence; Dr Vladimir Antwi-Danso, International Relations, Mr Serchem Komba, National Infrastructure and Energy and Ms Araba Bentsi-Enchill for Children, Gender, Youth, Sports and Culture.
The Chairpersons of the National Committee are Dr Kwabena Duffuor, Finance; Justice Jones Mensah; Legal; Dr Kwaku Osafo, Political Affairs; Mr Kosi Dedey, Publicity; Dr Nii Moi Thompson, Research; Mr K.T. Dadzie, Ways and Means; Mr Agbeko Sedziafah, Welfare and Protocol; Mr Yoofi Thompson, Youth Affairs; and Wing Commander Patrick Sogbordjor (retd) for Disciplinary.
Immediately after the introduction of the team by the National Chairman of the party, Mr Ladi Nylander, the team plunged into a close door strategic meeting.
Later in an interview with the Daily Graphic, Mr Benyarko said with the wealth of experience that the members had brought on board the team, the CPP would spring a surprise.
He said the party would create the conducive environment for the ideas and expertise that the members would bring to enrich strategy that would propel the party to win the election.
Story by Donald Ato Dapatem

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter