Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Are Muslims Victims Or Promoters Of Terrorism?...

17.05.2007 Sports News

One Touch Launches Premier League Awards Night.

By Patrick Kwame Akoto

One Touch Ghana Limited, operators of One Touch cellular phone, has renewed their commitment to the Ghana Football Association after it held its second Award launch in Accra yesterday.
The Launch which was chaired by Omanhene of Essikadu, Nana Asideu Nketiah also had in attendance some of the crème de la crème of Ghana Football including Black Stars Coach Claude Leroy. It was to officially unveil the proper Awards Night expected to take place on the 9th of June at the banquet Hall, at the State House to award deserving personalities who excelled in their various fields and thus ensuring the successful competition of the just ended One Touch Premier League.
Chief Operating Officer of One Touch, Philip Sowah reiterated his company's dedication in helping to uplift the image of the game in the country.The giants' telecommunication firm invested over five billion cedis in the form of sponsorship into the 2006/2007 national premier league which was a huge improvement upon the 1.5 billion cedis, the company spent on the premiership last season.
A select committee was set by the Ghana Football Association to select nominees for the various categories with the final Award winner been determinant on a 60% technical voting with One Touch subscribers having the last say with a 40% vote Via SMS text.
Kweku Essien of King Faisal, Kojo Asamoah and Alhaji Moro Sanni will vie keenly for the Best Player of the season Award which will be the highlight of the night's programme.The winner will drive home a VW Gol Salon car donated by One Touch.
Other Award categories will see Ash gold's David Duncan, Hans Vander Plym of Hearts of Lions and Mitko Kostsdinov Dobrev of Hearts of Oak competing for the Coach of the season.
Chief Executive Officer of AshantiGold Cudjoe Fianoo is the likely candidate to snatch the Chairman of the season Awards from the jaws of Victor Ahiakpo and Eric Afotey of Lions and Olympics respectively.
Discovery of the year will see Ekow Benson of Tema Youth, Alhaji Momo Sani of Ashgold and Emmanuel Clottey of Great Olympics vying for the spot. Emmanuel Clottey of Olympics will take the goal King Award while the highest scoring team will go to Hearts of Lions.

Here are the full classified Award categories.
Most Improved Club
1. Great Olympics
2. Hearts of Lions
3. AshantiGold
Defender of the Season.
1. Isaac Vorsah (Kotoko)
2. Jonathan Quartey (Ashgold)
3. Yahaya Mohammed (Tema Youth)
Referee of the Season
1. Cecil Fletcher Class 1 – Takoradi
2. Daniel Offei Class 1 – Tema
3. Mercy Tagoe Quarcoe FIFA – Tema
Most Promising Goalkeeper of the Season
1. Ernest Sowah (Tema Youth)
2. Isaac Akon (All Blacks)
3. Joseph Addo (Hasaacas)
Fair Play Award
1. Feyernord
2. Hearts of Lions
3. AshantiGold
Best Behaved Centre
1. Carl Reindorf, Dansoman
2. Ho Sports Stadium
3. Swedru Sports Stadium

Meanwhile the Professional League Board has announced the list of players selected for a Premiership All Star game scheduled for the Dansoman Carl Reindorf Park, Accra on Sunday June 3. The game which coincides with the launch of the Premier League Awards is being organised by the Ghana Football Association (GFA) in collaboration with the PLB with Global Avanti Sports Association as the Media coordinators of the event.