University of York celebrates remarkable year of achievements and impact

International University of York celebrates remarkable year of achievements and impact

The University of York has had a landmark year, marked by significant contributions and achievements of its staff and students across various disciplines. The university's commitment to public good, innovative research, and community engagement has been highlighted in numerous accolades and recognitions.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Charlie Jeffery proudly reflected on the year's successes. "Our community has showcased tremendous dedication to improving lives on a local, national, and international scale," he said. "Their efforts in embodying our vision for public good are truly inspirational."

Notable Honours and Awards
The year witnessed several staff members receiving prestigious honours. Professor Kate Pickett was awarded an OBE for Services to Societal Equality in the 2023 New Year’s Honours list. Professors Nicky Milner and Jane Hill received OBEs for services to archaeology, higher education, and conservation ecology, respectively.

Research Excellence Recognised
In the realm of research, Professor David Jenkins secured the 2023 Institute of Physics Ernest Rutherford medal and prize for his contributions to experimental nuclear physics. Professor Joe Tomlinson was honoured with the Philip Leverhulme Prize in Law for his impactful work in administrative law and socio-legal studies.

PhD student Meghna Asthana was celebrated as one of the 75 India UK Achievers award winners, marking the 75th anniversary of India’s independence. Her work in computer vision science has gained international recognition.

Student and Staff Achievements
In student accolades, Mohammad Malik and Tanisha Jain received awards for their remarkable contributions in education and sport, respectively. Their work has significantly impacted higher education access and inclusivity in sports.

From the Department of Music, Professor Jonathan Wainwright received the Claude V. Palisca Award for his extensive work on composer Angelo Notari. Professor Sarah Brown from the Department of History of Art was awarded the Plowden Medal for her contributions to stained glass conservation.

Global Recognition and Appointments
Several faculty members were honoured with global recognition. Professors Catherine Hewitt, Yvonne Birks, and Simon Gilbody were awarded NIHR Senior Investigator status, marking them among the top researchers in health and social care.

Professor Laura Bojke's appointment as Inaugural Chair for the WHO Advisory Group on Economics for Environment, Climate Change and Health further highlights the university’s global impact.

Team Efforts and Collaborations
The university's commitment to research and teaching excellence was also recognised. The European Commission awarded the HR Excellence in Research Award to the university for the 12th consecutive year. The Inclusive Learning team received the national Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) from Advance HE.

Student involvement in local community services was celebrated at the Student Volunteering Awards, acknowledging the efforts of Lauren Stanton and Kashi Gill in addressing city priorities.

Innovations in Sustainability and Media

The University of York’s Sustainability Clinic received a Green Gown award, demonstrating its commitment to addressing sustainability challenges. Additionally, a video essay exploring the intersection of virtual reality and AI, created by Dr Jenna Ng and Oliver Tomkins, won the Special Jury Prize at the Learning on Screen Awards.

This year's achievements at the University of York underscore its dedication to educational excellence, research innovation, and a strong commitment to societal impact.

William Gomes
William Gomes

South Asia correspondent.
Amazon | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedinPage: williamnicholasgomes