ModernGhana logo
24.03.2005 Politics

Kufuor swears in 16 Deputy Ministers

Listen to article

Accra, March 24, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor on Thursday swore into office 16 Deputy Ministers made up of nine men and seven women into office at the Castle, Osu.

He administered the Oaths of Allegiance, the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy and presented their Instrument of Appointment to them. They were: Dr Gyeshika Adombire Agambila, Deputy Minister of Science and Environment; Professor George Y. Gyan-Baffour, Deputy Minister of Finance and Economic Planning; Mr Kwame Ampofo Twumasi, Deputy Minister of Education and Sports and Mr Abraham Dwuma Odoom, Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development.

The rest were: Ms Rita Tani Iddi, Deputy Minister of Lands, Forestry and Mines; Dr B. Aggrey Ntim, Deputy Minister of Communications; Mr Christopher Addae, Deputy Minister of Harbours and Railways; Mrs Akosua Frema Osei-Opare, Deputy Minister of Manpower, Youth and Employment; Mrs Mercy Bampoe-Addo, Deputy Minister Office of the President; Ms Shirley Ayorkor Botchway, Deputy Minister of Information and Dr (Mrs) Gladys Norley Ashitey, Deputy Minister of Health.

Five Deputy Regional Ministers sworn into office were: Miss Susana A.A. Mensah for Eastern Region; Miss Sophia Horner-Sam for Western Region; Mr Ignatius Baffour Awuah for Brong Ahafo Region; Mr Mohammed Amin Adam for Northern Region and Mr A. Awudu Yeremiah for Upper East Region.

Vice President Aliu Mahama was among those present.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter