21.01.2021 Presidency

Akufo-Addo drops Atta Akyea, Joe Ghartey, others in his new gov't

By Richard Abayeta Abugre
Akufo-Addo drops Atta Akyea, Joe Ghartey, others in his new gov't
Listen to article

The name of the former Works and Housing Minister, Samuel Atta Akyea, has been conspicuously missing in the list of ministers that have been submitted to Parliament by the President for vetting and approval.

The former minister of Railway Development Hon. Joe Ghartey has also lost his job as a minster.

President Akufo Addo has through the acting Director of Communications released a 30 list minister-appointees when approved will help Akufo-Addo run his government in the next four years.

At the regional level, 16 individuals have been nominated to head the various regions. However, there will not be deputy ministers for the regions an earlier statement from the presidency revealed.

Alan Kyeremanten, Ken Ofori-Atta, Albert Kan Dapaah, Dominic Nitiwul, Ambrose Dery, ShirleyAyorkor Botchwey will remain as Trade and Industry, Finance, National Security, Defence, Interior, and Foreign Affairs Ministers respectively.

Ursula Owusu, Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and Kweku Agyemang Manu will also remain at their respective ministries.

Dr Mathew Opoku Prempeh heads to the Energy Ministry and John Peter Amewu will now be the Railway Minister. Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum is elevated to the position of Education minister.

Former Deputies chief of staff, Asenso Boakye and Abu Jinapor will head Works and Housing Ministry and Lands and Natural Resources Ministry respectively.

The newly created ministry, Ministry of Public Enterprise, will be headed by Joseph Cudjo and Mustapha Yussif is named as the Youth and Sports Minister.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter