24.03.2005 General News

List of members of the Council of State

Listen to article

Accra, March 24, GNA - The following is the list of members of the Council of State sworn in on Thursday by President John Agyekum Kufuor. President's Appointees:

1. Naa Thomas Tia Sulemana

2. Alhaji Alhassan Bin-Salih

3. Mr C.K. Tedam

4. Mr A.K. Deku

5. Madam Amma Bame Busia

6. Mr Kwesi Armah

7. Mrs Gifty Affenyi-Dadzie

8. Nana Otuo Siriboe II

9. Mrs Cecilia Bannerman

10. Most Rev. Dr Samuel Asante-Antwi

Appointed Ex-Officio Members

1. Nana Odeneho Gyapong Ababio II (President, National House of Chiefs)

2. Mr Kweku Kyei (Former IGP)

3. Major-General Edwin Kwamina Sam (Former Chief of Defence Staff)

Elected Regional Representatives

1. Togbe Kpangbatriku III, Paramount Chief of Dodome Traditional Area (Volta Region)

2. Professor Naa Sebiyam Nabila, (Northern Region)

3. Mr Michael Kwadwo Adusah, a retired Assistant Commissioner of Police (Brong Ahafo Region)

4. Mr Francis Asianab Afoko, a businessman (Upper East Region)

5. Mr Paul Kwabena Damoah, an agriculturist (Western Region)

6. Mr Fredrick Guggisberg Yaw Ofori-Atta, an Industrial Relations Practitioner (Eastern Region)

7. Mr Benjamin Asonaba Dapaah, transport owner (Ashanti Region).

8. Kuoro Kuri-Buktie Limann IV, Paramount chief of Gwollu Traditional Area (Upper West)

9. Mr Ato Essuman, a Management Consultant (Central Region)

10. Mr John Sackah Addo, former Governor of the Bank of Ghana (Greater Accra Region).

President Kufuor is yet to appoint s former Chief Justice to the Council.

Prof. Adzei Bekoe, former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana, is Chairman.

ModernGhana Links