ModernGhana logo
21.06.2004 Regional News

NDC elects 11 Parliamentary Candidates in Eastern Region

Listen to article

Koforidua, June 21, GNA - Two Members of Parliament (MPs) for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Eastern Region have been retained by their constituency congresses to contest this year's elections during their primaries.

They are, Mr Joseph Tsatsu Agbenu, for the Afram Plains North and Mr Dwamena Bekoe for Asuogyaman.

The Eastern Regional Organiser of the Party, Mr Tawiah Boateng told the Ghana news Agency in an interview at Koforidua on Monday. He said the Regional Branch had so far conducted primaries to elect 11 parliamentary candidates out of the 28 constituencies in the Region and had completed the vetting of candidates, who filled their nominations to contest for the eight other constituencies.

Mr Boateng said three other serving MPs are likely to be retained, since they were the only candidates who filed their nominations in their constituencies and mentioned them as Mr Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo for Fanteakwa; Mr Sallas Mensah for Upper West Akim and Mr Stephen Kwao Amanor for Upper Manya.

He said other candidates that had been elected for various constituencies by the Party included Mr Francis Asare for Ayensuano; Mr Simon Peter Asirifi for Abuakwa North; Mr Thomas Kissiedu Okai for Akwapim South and Mr Julius Debrah for Suhum.

Others included Mr Baba Jamal Mohammed Ahmed for Akwatia; Mr Reginald Osae Aboagye, Kade; Mr Martin Bruce Opare, Lower West Akyem; Mr Kofi Haligah, Afram Plains South and Mr Emmanuel Bamfo Boateng for Nkawkaw.

Mr Boateng said so far, with the records available to him, three candidates were also likely to be elected unopposed by their constituencies, since they were the only candidates to have filled their nominations at the close of nominations.

They included Mr Yaw Adjei Frimpong for Abirem; Mr Richard Agyemfra-Kumi, for Akropong and Mr Tom Kenneth Badu for Afoase/Ayerebi. He said in the Yilo Constituency, Mr Raymond Tawiah, the Constituency Chairman of the Party was contesting the incumbent MP, Mr Daniel Tepketeh while Mr Michael Nyawonyu is challenging the incumbent MP, Mr Ebenezer Tetteh Angmor at Lower Manya.

Mr Boateng predicted that the NDC was very sure of winning 18 of the 28 constituencies in the Eastern Region.