27.08.2012 NDC News

NDC Apologises To NPP

By Daily Graphic
Listen to article

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has apologised to the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for its inability to show up at its (NPP) National Delegates Conference held at the Accra International Conference Centre last Saturday, August 25, 2012.

The party explained that it was not deliberate, especially when “we will be expecting all political parties, including the NPP at our Special Delegates Congress scheduled for Kumasi on August,30, 2012 to deliver their solidarity messages to us”.

A letter signed by Mr George Lawson, a Deputy General Secretary of the NDC (Operations) and addressed to the General Secretary of the NPP, Mr Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie, said “The invitation came when all officials, including the National Chairman, who was on President Dramani Mahama’s national thank you tour, were out of the office on official duties.

“Unfortunately, the party officer in charge of mails failed to bring the letter to the attention of the appropriate officer for the necessary action to be take”.

“Once again, we unreservedly apologise for the mishap and hope it will not recur,” the party stated.

Four journalists of the Graphic Communications Group Limited were among a number of journalists and media organisations honoured at the 17th Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards ceremony held in Accra last Saturday.

They are Ms Doreen Hammond, Best Feature (Print); Mr Emmanuel Adu-Gyamerah (Best in Parliamentary Reporting); Mr Moses Dotse Aklorbotu (Best Investigative Journalist), and Mrs Shirley Asiedu-Addo (Best Report on Small and Medium-Scale Enterprises).

Other award winners are Mr Michael Oti of Metro TV (Best Report in Social Security); Mr Nelson Nyado of Diamond FM (Best Radio Feature); Mr Edmund Smith Asante of Ghana Business News (Best Report on Water); while Mr Albert Oppong Ansah, Mr Albert Futukpor and Mr Sepenyo Dzokoto, all of the Ghana News Agency, emerged the best reporters on Human Rights with Focus on Children, Oil and Gas, and Education respectively.

Other awardees were Ms Akua Oforiwaa Darko (Arts, Entertainment and Domestic Tourism), Mr Richard Bright Addo of Net2 TV (Health), Mr Emmanuel K. Dogbevi (Anti-Corruption), Mr Suuk Nelson of Diamond FM (Development Journalism for furthering the MDGs), Mr Kweku Owusu Peprah of Joy FM (HIV and AIDS) and Mrs Emilia Enin Abbey of the Business Guide (Kwadwo Baah Wiredu Best Report in Finance & Economics) and (Environment).

The rest were Ms Dzifa Emma Tetteh of the Ghanaian Times (Print News), Ms Sarah Ofori of Ghana Television (Television Feature), Mr Isaac Kaledzi of Citi FM (Rural Reporting), Ms Jamila Akweley Okertchiri of the Daily Guide (Disability), Rosemary Gaisie of GBC (Sports), Ms Geoffrey Buttah of Ghanaian Times (Photo Journalism), Mr Kofi Enchill of The Heritage (Politics) and Mr Samuel Nii Noi Dowuona of Adom FM (Telecommunication).

Institutional awards were also presented to the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation for Best Media House for Democracy and Peace Building and Best Report on Science; Radio Peace in Winneba for the Best Radio/TV Programme (Akan); Obonu FM’s Negbe Nyeshe for the Best Radio/TV Programme in Ga; Diamond FM for the Best Feature on Radio; The Finder for the Best Newspaper Layout and Design, and TV Africa’s Features Desk for the Best Report on Agriculture.

An Administrative Officer of the GJA, Mr Fiffi Nettey, was presented with an honorary award for dedicated services to the association.-GNA

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter