Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: A Letter To My Fellow Ghanaians! –the Ten Years Challenge...

Oct 4, 2001 | General News

New President of Bar Association: Adu-Gyamfi is


A Kumasi-based lawyer, Mr Paul Adu-Gyamfi was on Wednesday elected the new National President of Ghana Bar Association (GBA) at the end of their conference in Sunyani.

The conference, held from September 30 to October 3, under the theme: "Corruption, the rule of law and the administration justice."

Mr Adu-Gyamfi polled 121 votes as against 92 by his main challenger, Mr William Ofori Boafo, the outgoing vice President and an Accra-based legal practitioner.

Two other contestants Mr Joseph Ayikoi Otoo got 23 and Mr Bennet Tamakloe had one vote.

The newly elected President told the press in an interview that based on the theme of the conference, his team would work with the resolution of the Association to help rid the country of corruption, ensure the proper application of the rule of law as well as equity in the administration of justice.

Mr Adu-Gyamfi emphasised that as the voice of the voiceless, the Bar has decided to pursue its resolve to get corruption out of the Bench since "a corruptible Bench corrupts the whole nation".

He said: "The task is a challenging one and needs to have a commitment and make a lot of sacrifices."

He the relationship between the Association and the government during his term of office and would be determined by the policies that the government would pursue adding that it had always stood on the side of the people.

Mr Adu-Gyamfi, 55, who lost to Mr Ebo Quashie, out-going President three years ago, was called to the Bar in 1970.

From 1995 to 1998 he was the National Vice-President and also served as the National Secretary from 1990 to 1993.

He is a senior partner of Adu-Gyamfi and Associates in Kumasi.

Nii Osah Mills, Mr Benson Nutsukpui, Mr Peter Raymond Zwennes, Mr Kwesi Cab-Addae and Mrs Mercy Afua Wood were elected unopposed for the positions of Vice President, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Public Relations Officer and Treasurer in that order.

Powered By Modern Ghana