ModernGhana logo
23.01.2020 Football News

45th MTN SWAG Awards Launched

By Sammy Heywood Okine
45th MTN SWAG Awards Launched
LISTEN JAN 23, 2020

The 45th MTN Sports Writers Association Of Ghana (SWAG) awards has been launched at the MTN head office at Ridge in Accra.

27 sportsmen and women who have excelled in the past sports season would be honoured at the Accra International Conference Centre on Saturday, 23rd May, 2020.

They include Sports Personality of the year, Footballer of the year, athletes of the year, para-athlete of the year, professional boxer of the year, amateur boxer of the year, table tennis player of the year, prospect of the year, taekwondo athlete of the year,

Kwabena Yeboah, President of SWAG said the best five performing sports federations would be recognized and honoured, namely; weightlifting, rugby, athletics, badminton and arm-wrestling.

He hinted that special meritorious awards would be given to the national beach volleyball team, former international football star, Nii Odartey Lamptey, GOC general secretary Richard Akpokavie, former sports administrator Oteng Aboagye and president of Cheetah FC/ Ghana Bodybuilding & Fitness Association Abdul Haye Yartey.

According to the SWAG president MTN, Ghana Gas, GOIL, ABL and TT Brothers are also going to be awarded for supporting Ghana sports.

Samuel Koranteng, senior corporate services executive of MTN who launched the 45th awards on behalf of the CEO commended SWAG members for covering the recent GUSA 2020 Games and urged them to make the coming awards night more attractive and spectacular.

The former captain of the Unversity of Ghana badminton team advised other corporate bodies to support the SWAG to honour the nation’s most distinguished sportsmen and women.

Charles Osei Asibey, general secretary of SWAG said this year’s event would be exciting as some of the nation’s best entertainers are going to perform.

Vice president of SWAG, Mr Maurice Quansah who is also editor of Graphic Sports said the SWAG awards has been running uninterrupted for the past 44 years and congratulated past and current executives as well as committed members who have served the association loyally.

Join our Newsletter