07.10.2019 Sports News

Osei Asibey Is New SWAG General Secretary

Charles Osei AsibeyCharles Osei Asibey
07.10.2019 LISTEN

Broadcaster and sports journalist Charles Osei Asibey has been elected as the General Secretary of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG).

Widely known as 'Barrister', he polled a total of 98 votes out of 114 to defeat his opponent Nana Prempeh, who managed to also poll 20 votes at the just-ended SWAG elections held across the country through an e-ballot system.

He thanked members for the confidence reposed in him to be the administrator of SWAG.

“It’s an honour and a challenge but together with the leadership, I will discharge my duties with diligence being responsive and responsible to SWAG and our partners. To my advisors and those who encouraged me, I truly appreciate your belief in me.

“Congratulations to the Electoral Committee of SWAG for the process and innovation. It’s a novelty we must embrace,” Osei Asibey said.

“To the newly elected ExCo, I say 'team work makes the dream work”. Truly, SWAG is the winner today. Long live SWAG, long live Ghana sports.”

This is a new addition to Charles' portfolios, as he is currently the President of the Ghana Armwrestling Federation (GAF) and Deputy Secretary General of Armwrestling Federation of Africa (AFA).

Eligible voters of the association were 140, but only 118 turned out to vote.

Osei Asibey, prior to his election as the secretary for SWAG, was an executive board member in the previous board, which was led by Kwabena Yeboah, whose unopposed candidature was overwhelmingly endorsed with a total of 114 votes.

The Vice President of SWAG, Maurice Quansah, was also endorsed with a total of 110 votes while the Deputy General Secretary went to Thomas Boakye-Agyeman after polling 102 votes to defeat his opponent, Nii Adokwei Cudjoe, who polled 16 votes.

Rosalind K. Amoh was re-elected as the treasurer of the association after receiving a total of 108 votes to reaffirm her position.

Four candidates contested for an available two slots on the executive committee board and at the end of voting, Ohene Brenya and Otuo Acheampong got the highest votes to be elected on to the executive committee board.

Brenya got 78 votes while Otuo Acheampong got 65 votes. The other candidates, Helga Gokah, got 48 votes, while Moses Antwi Benefo surprisingly got 45 votes.

---Daily Guide

ModernGhana Links