Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: [trailer] Anas To Drop Shocking Video On Children At Orphanage Eating ...

20.06.2019 Cup of Nations

AFCON 2019: AFCON Preview, Schedule, Predictions

By Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
AFCON 2019: AFCON Preview, Schedule, Predictions

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations kicks off in Egypt on Friday and for the first time in its history the tournament will be played during the summer months.

It will also be the largest-ever AFCON tournament, with 24 teams competing to be crowned as Champions of Africa.

Egypt, the runners up two years ago as they lost to Cameroon in the final, are favourites and will have a huge support on home soil, while Senegal, Nigeria, Ghana and the Ivory Coast will all be favoured to make deep runs.

The likes of Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Riyad Mahrez will lead their respective nations, as plenty of Premier League stars will be strutting their stuff.

Below is everything you need to know ahead of the tournament kicking off on June 21 (the final is in Cairo on July 19) including the full schedule, group stage predictions and which Premier League stars you can keep an eye on in Egypt.

Group stage
June 21
Group A: Egypt v Zimbabwe – Cairo International Stadium

June 22
Group A: Democratic Republic of Congo v Uganda – Cairo Stadium

Group B: Nigeria v BurundiGuinea v Madagascar – Alexandria Stadium

June 23
Group D: Morocco v Namibia – Al Salam Stadium, Cairo

Group C: Senegal v Tanzania, Kenya v Algeria – 30 June Stadium, Cairo

June 24
Group D: South Africa v Ivory Coast – Al Salam Stadium

Group E: Tunisia v Angola, Mauritania v Mali – Suez Stadium

June 25
Group F: Cameroon v Guinea-Bissau, Ghana v Benin – Ismailia Stadium

June 26
Group B: Nigeria v Guinea – Alexandria Stadium

Group A: Uganda v Zimbabwe, Egypt v DR Congo – Cairo Stadium

June 27
Group B: Madagascar v Burundi – Alexandria Stadium

Group C: Algeria v Senegal, Kenya v Tanzania – June 30 Stadium

June 28
Group E: Tunisia v Mali – Suez Stadium
Group D: Morocco v Ivory Coast, Namibia v South Africa – Al Salam Stadium

June 29
Group E: Mauritania v Angola – Suez Stadium
Group F: Cameroon v Ghana, Benin v Guinea-Bissau – Ismailia Stadium

June 30
Group B: Madagascar v Nigeria, Alexandria Stadium
Group B: Burundi v Guinea – Al Salam Stadium
Group A: Egypt v Uganda – Cairo Stadium
Group A: Zimbabwe v DR Congo – June 30 Stadium

July 1
Group D: South Africa v Morocco – Al Salam Stadium

Group D: Namibia v Ivory Coast – June 30 Stadium

Group C: Kenya v Senegal – June 30 Stadium
Group C: Tanzania v Algeria – Al Salam Stadium

July 2
Group F: Benin v Cameroon – Ismailia Stadium
Group F: Guinea-Bissau v Ghana, Suez Stadium
Group E: Mauritania v Tunisia – Suez Stadium
Group E: Angola v Mali – Ismailia Stadium
Round of 16
July 5
Match 41: Group D winners v 3rd Group B/E/F – Al Salam Stadium

Match 38: Group A runners-up v Group C runners-up – Cairo Stadium

July 6
Match 42: Group B runners-up v Group F runners-up – Alexandria Stadium

Match 39: Group A winners v 3rd Group C/D/E – Cairo Stadium

July 7
Match 37: Group B winners v 3rd Group A/C/D – Alexandria Stadium

Match 40: Group C winners v 3rd Group A/B/F – June 30 Stadium

July 8
Match 43: Group E winners v Group D runners-up – Suez Stadium

Match 44: Group F winners v Group E runners-up – Ismailia Stadium

July 10
Match 45: Winners match 38 v Winners 41 – June 30 Stadium

Match 48: Winners 42 v Winners 39 – Cairo Stadium

July 11
Match 47: Winners 43 v Winners 40 – Suez Stadium

Match 46: Winners 37 v Winners 44 – Al Salam Stadium

July 14
Match 49: Winners 45 v Winners 46 – June 30 Stadium

Match 50: Winners 47 v Winners 48 – Cairo Stadium

July 17
Match 51: Losing semi-finalists – Al Salam Stadium

July 19
Match 52: Winning semifinalists – Cairo Stadium

Mohamed Salah (Egypt)
Sadio Mane (Senegal)
Wilfried Ndidi (Nigeria)
Idrissa Gueye (Senegal)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)
Victor Wanyama (Kenya)
Wilfried Zaha (Ivory Coast)
Group A
1. Egypt
2. DR Congo
3. Uganda
4. Zimbabwe
Group B
1. Nigeria
2. Guinea
3. Burundi
4. Madagascar
Group C
1. Senegal
2. Algeria
3. Kenya
4. Tanzania
Group D
1. Ivory Coast
2. Morocco
3. South Coast
4. Namibia
Group E
1. Tunisia
2. Mali
3. Mauritania
4. Angola
Group F
1. Ghana
2. Cameroon
3. Benin
4. Guinea-Bissau