FEATURED: Some Rare Descendants Of Ab-Ram Living In Ghana...

10.01.2019 Basketball

Three Schools Represent Volta In The Sprite Ball Championship

By Acorlor Elinam Tilda
Three Schools Represent Volta In The Sprite Ball Championship
LISTEN JAN 10, 2019

Three senior high schools in the Volta region will this year compete in the 2019 sprite ball championship at the El-wak sports stadium in Accra.

The schools are Bishop Herman College in Kpando, Keta Business College in Keta and Mawuli senior high school in the ho municipality of the Volta region.

The two days basketball championship is set to commence on Friday 11th to Saturday 12 of January.

Bishop Herman College and Keta Business College have been drawn in group A and D respectively in the boys division whiles Mawuli senior high school is in group A in the girls division.

Mawuli senior high school girls will be making their first appearance in the championship after their male counterparts were banned for 2years for fielding an unqualified player last year.

In all 20 teams from various Senior High Schools across the country would challenge each other for prestigious trophies as prizes for the championship.

12 teams in the boys division have been drawn in four groups of three.

Eight teams in the girls division will contest in two groups of four.

The sprite ball championship is an annual inter- High School Basketball Tournament that seeks to unearth potentials for possible grooming into the national basketball team.

This year will be the 12th edition since the tournament was introduced by Rite Multimedia and Sprite in 2007.

In 2014 Keta Secondary School (KETASCO) emerged champions of the Sprite Ball tournament and has been runners up on two occasions in 2011 and 2015 respectively.

PRESEC-Osu and Kumasi Girls Senior High School are the defending Sprite Ball champions in the Boys and Girls Divisions respectively.

Below are the groupings for both boys and girls:


Group A: Osu PRESEC (defending champions) /Bishop Herman College /Sekondi College.

Group B: Pope John’s Senior High / Prempeh College / West Africa Senior High School.

Group C: Adisadel College/ Opoku Ware School / Koforidua Senior High / Technical School.

Group D: Mfantsipim School / Keta Business College/ St John’s School.


Group A: Kumasi Girls Senior High School (defending champions) / Mawuli Senior High School / Mfantsiman Girls Senior High School.

Group B: Accra Wesley Girls Senior High School / Shama Senior High School / Nkawkaw Senior High School.