Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: A Message At Christmas: Beware How The British Fooled Mankind With Chr...

Jan 6, 2019 | Football News

JAK Cup Between Kotoko And Ashgold To Be Replayed To Decide Winner

JAK Cup Between Kotoko And Ashgold To Be Replayed To Decide Winner

The John Agyekum Kufuor (JAK) anniversary cup match between Kumasi Asante Kotoko and Obuasi Ashanti Gold is set to be replayed at a later date to decide the winner after both sides were unable to win today’s encounter at the end of extra time.

The much-awaited JAK anniversary cup match did not disappoint as fans were treated to some beautiful game of football characterized by high intensity and end to end action.

Both sides approached the game with all seriousness whiles being poised to carry the day in order to win their first trophy of the year 2019.

The first half of the match did not produce any goal despite both teams creating a lot of chances.

Kotoko’s Sogne Yacouba got into good positions on a couple of occasions but his sharpness level on the day let him down and could not find the back of the net.

Ashanti Gold were the better side in the first half as they dominated most part of the game.

They could however not make good use of their dominance with the game ending goalless after the first 45 minutes.

The Porcupine Warriors finally took the lead through an Emmanuel Gyamfi goal on the 57th-minute mark.

The enterprising winger latched onto a cross from Abass Mohammed and went past AshGold defender Osei Agyeman before firing into the right corner of the post.

Richard Djodji restored parity for the miners with a curling shot from 20 meters out on the 68th minute to ensure the game ended one all at the end of the full 90 minutes.

The game was pushed to extra time but neither side could get that second goal to win the match.

The later date for the second leg is yet to be decided by organizers of the match and the regional rivals will have to wait in patience for another time to get one over their opponent.

AsanteKotoko_SC XI vs Ashgold:

Muntari Tagoe (GK), Amos Frimpong (C), Abass Mohammed, Agyeman Badu, Abdul Ganiyu, Umar Bashiru, Kwame Bonsu, Martin Antwi, Emmanuel Gyamfi, Songne Yacouba, Fatawu Mohammed.

Ashgold Xi vs @AsanteKotoko_SC:

Frank Boateng, Tijani Joshua, Eric Donkor, Samed Ibrahim, Richard Osei Agyemang, James Akaminko, Amos Addai, McCarthy Appiah, Shafiu Mumuni, Richard Djodi, Outtara Salia.

Powered By Modern Ghana