07.05.2005 Hockey

New Team to Run Ghana Hockey

By Ghana Hockey Association
New Team to Run Ghana Hockey
Listen to article

A ten-member Association will take charge of the running of hockey in Ghana

with effect from April 2005 for a two-year period. The Association, which is

chaired by Mr. Oko-Nikoi Dzani, consists of four old members, five new members

and a Secretary-General. The members are:

1. Oko-Nikoi Dzani - Chairman

2. Richard Akpokavie - Vice-Chairman

3. Elizabeth King (Ms) - Member

4. Nii Quaye-Kumah - Member

5. Agatha Hagan - Member

6. Eric Adane - Member

7. Joseph Yaw Adu - Member

8. Yaw Boafo - Member

9. James Amoo-Gottfried - Member

10. Francis Kpesenu - Ag. Secretary-General

The Association held its inaugural meeting on Friday April 22 2005 with the

main objective of getting members to know one another and establish a working


Members considered the state of affairs of the Association as at December 31

2005 as contained in the handing-over notes submitted by the previous

Executive and as a first step to get to know the operational situation of the


In a participatory manner, members jointly put in place Committees to take

charge of various developmental and operational aspects of the Association and

then appointed members to head these Committees. The chairpersons of the

Committees are as follows:

1. Oko-Nikoi Dzani - Finance

2. Richard Akpokavie - Development and Coaching

3. Elizabeth King (Ms) - Internal Audit

4. Nii Quaye-Kumah - Secretariat and Media Relations

5. Agatha Hagan - Umpiring

6. Eric Adane - Marketing

7. Joseph Yaw Adu - Events and Competitions

8. Yaw Boafo - Regional Coordination

9. James Amoo-Gottfried - Equipment and Infrastructure

The hockey fraternity wishes the new Executive Board a fruitful working


ModernGhana Links