ModernGhana logo
22.01.2005 Football News

Hearts cannot participate in the world club championship

By Yeboah Raymond
Listen to article

According to the new format, which comes into force in 2005, the respective winners of the six "champions cups" of each confederation will qualify for the FIFA Club World Championship.

"I am convinced that this is the best formula for everyone," argues Michel Platini, a FIFA Executive Committee member and former Toyota Cup winner from 1985.

"It won't make the clubs' trips any longer, but by playing an extra game, the club crowned this time will be true world champions," continued the former Juventus playmaker.

This means that, the team that wins the African champions league represent the continent. In this case, even if Hearts beat Enyimba in the super cup -Enyimba still goes.

Join our Newsletter