ModernGhana logo
09.12.2004 NPP News

Two NPP incumbent MP retain seats

Listen to article

Tema, Dec. 08, (Ms Yeboah) GNA -- Two New Patriotic Party (NPP) MPs for Tema East and Tema West constituencies have retained their seats and are going to parliament for the third term.
While Mr Ishmael Ashitey for the East battled the seat with three Independent candidates with two coming from his camp, lawyer Abraham Ossei Aidoo for West also faced stiff competition from three candidates with two from his party.
Mr Aidoo held fast to his seat with 37,975 votes and Mr Ashitey won with 41,747 votes.
In the parliamentary race at Tema West, Mr George Medie of the National Democratic Congress had 27,061 votes; Mr Godfried Allan Lomotey polled 1,178, Mr Kojo Amoako 298, Mr Kenneth Nana Amoateng, Madam Ayele Bonnie Ajavon and Mr Justice Awortwe Edwards, all Independent candidates had 1,164, 1,746 and 1,587 votes respectively.
In the Presidential slot, Dr Edward Mahama of the Peoples National Convention had 525, President John Agyekum Kufuor of the NPP won with 41,293 votes, Professor John Evans Atta Mills of the NDC polled 28,112 and Mr George Aggudey had 299 votes.
In the parliamentary race at Tema East, Mrs Emelia Kai Adjei of the NDC had 27,059, Mr Charles Akwetey Fynn-Williams of CPP polled 1,305 while Mr Albert Antwi-Nuamah, Mr Lord Koranteng Hamah and Mr Ramseyer Agyemang-Prempeh all Independent candidates polled 5,648, 1,568 and 7,514 votes respectively.
With the Presidential, Dr Mahama had 684, President Kufuor 51,125, Prof. Mills 32,050 and Mr Aggudey 751 votes.
In an interview, Mr Ashitey said his victory was due to extra hard work put in during the campaign, since the competition was so keen. He however, noticed that, this year's election was more orderly than the previous years and hoped there would be improvement over subsequent ones.
Mr Ashitey appealed to the Electoral Commissioner to do its home work well to endeavour to maintain the 550 voter register at a polling station to enable many people to exercise their franchise.
According to him some of the registers contained about 2,000 names at a polling station, which extended the voting time of 5.00 pm. In all 377,412 eligible voters were expected to cast their votes in 362 polling stations of the five constituencies, namely Tema East, Tema West, Ashaiman, Adenta and Kpone/Katamanso.

Join our Newsletter