FEATURED: Just In: Supreme Court Stops Justice Wuni From Hearing Ken Agyapong’s ...

05.11.2014 Sports News

Great player: Yadier Molina wins seventh straight Gold Glove

Great player: Yadier Molina wins seventh straight Gold Glove
Listen to article

Managers and coaches vote to nominate the best-performed fielder in each position in each of the National and American Leagues, with Molina winning the Glove in the NL since 2007.

He is just the third catcher to win the award at least seven times in succession, after Ivan Rodriguez (1992-01) and Johnny Bench (1968-77) both won it 10 times on the trot.

Runners-up in the World Series, the Kansas City Royals had three players back up their Glove-winning performances.

Alex Gordon has taken out the award in left field in the AL for four successive years, while catcher Salvador Perez and first baseman Eric Hosmer made it back-to-back wins.

Renowned for their defence, the Royals almost pinched the MLB championship as a play-off wildcard - and general manager Dayton Moore said they had no time for players who could not perform in the field.

"We've said from day one, if you can't play defence, there's probably not a spot for you in our everyday line-up," Moore said.

Baltimore Orioles pair Adam Jones (centre field) and JJ Hardy (shortstop) completed hat-tricks of titles since 2012, while right fielder Nick Markakis won a Glove for the second time in four years.

Seattle Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager earned his first Glove, while Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia made it two in a row and four overall.

Houston Astros pitcher Dallas Keuchel was unrivalled in winning the AL Glove.

Joining Molina in extending Glove streaks in the NL were shortstop Andrelton Simmons (Atlanta Braves) and third baseman Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies).

Los Angeles Dodgers' first baseman Adrian Gonzalez won for the first time since 2011, tallying his fourth Glove.

Colorado second baseman DJ LeMahieu, Miami Marlins left fielder Christian Yelich, New York Mets centre fielder Juan Lagares, Braves right fielder Jason Heyward and Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke were all first time recipients.

Powered By Modern Ghana