ModernGhana logo
29.09.2014 Sports News

South African-based striker Abdul Basit wins GSN-GTV SportsPlus Player of the Week Award

South African-based striker Abdul Basit wins GSN-GTV SportsPlus Player of the Week Award
Listen to article

Free State Stars striker Abdul Basit Adam was crowned Ghanaian Player Abroad of the Week by GSN and Ghana Television SportsPlus on Sunday night's Top11 show.

The 19-year-old former New Edubiase United wins the Prestigious Television Award following his heroics for South African Absa Premier League side Free State Stars during the weekend.

Basit climbed off the bench at the time his side Free State Stars were losing 2-1 to visiting Moroka Swallows at the Goble Park Stadium before 2300 home fans and he bagged an all-important brace to win the game for game for them.

He equalised in the 63rd minute with a predatory strike before hitting the match winner ten minutes later with a signature finish.

The Panel – Willie Graham, left, Akyereko Frimpong Manson, middle and Ameenu Shardow, right, voted Abdul Basit for the top award

A panel consisting of Ghana Television's Benjamin Willie Graham ,'s Ameenu Shardow and Player Abroad anchor Akyereko Frimpong Manson unanimously settled on the young striker for the award.

He beat competition from Feyenoord's Elvis Manu who set up three goals for the Eredivisie side on Saturday and Stromsgodset's Nana Boateng as well as former Hearts of Oak striker Mahatma Otoo.

Swedish-based Nasiru Mohammed won the award last season.

The Top11 Show on GTV SportsPlus highlights the performance of Ghanaian players across the globe by showing video of goals scored and also discussing major happenings around Ghanaian stars abroad.

It is shown every Sunday night at 19:00 GMT. Remember you can find the GTV SportsPlus channel online and watch the show week Sunday night.

1. Adam KWARASEY – Stromsgodset (Norway)
2. Dennis APPIAH – Caen (France)
3. Baba RAHMAN – Augsburg (Germany)
4. Jonathan MENSAH – Evian TG (France)
5. John BOYE – Kayseri Erciyesspor (Turkey)
6. Nana BOATENG – Stromsgodset (Norway
8. Kevin-Prince BOATENG – Schalke 04 (Germany)
7. Wakaso MUBARAK – Celtic (Scotland)
11. Elvis MANU – Feyenoord (Netherlands)
10. Abdul BASIT – Free State Stars (SA)
9. Mahatma OTOO – Sogndal IF (Norway)

Join our Newsletter