ModernGhana logo
26.05.2004 Football News

19 Stars Invited To Camp

19 Stars Invited To Camp
Listen to article

...Gargo & Tanko In; Johnson & Amoah Out Accra, May 26, GNA - Two Ghanaian foreign based players, Mohammed Gargo and Ibrahim Tanko, who have been absent from the senior national team, Black Stars for some time now, are among a list of foreign-based players invited by the Ghana Football Association (GFA) to camp in preparation for the 2006 world cup qualifiers. They are listed among the 19 players in a Press Released issued by Mr Kofi Nsiah, General Secretary of the GFA copied to the GNA Sports in Accra on Wednesday. The reason for the long absence of Gargo was due to his purported resignation from international duty some time back whiles that of Tanko is not known. Perhaps as a sign of the new change blowing through the GFA that permeates through the senior national team, another player, Eric Addo who has been absent for some time is scheduled to make a return to the team. The invited foreign based players are Anthony Obodai and Abubakar Tanko (Ajax, Holland), Asamoah Gyan, Mohammed Gargo and Sulley Ali Muntari (Udinese, Italy) Baffour Gyan (Dynamo Moscow, Russia) Emmanuel Osei (Ackbasabat, Turkey), Emmanuel Pappoe (Ashdod, Israel) and Eric Addo (PSV, Holland) The rest are Isaac Boakye (Bierefield, Germay) Ishmael Addo (Natanya, Israel) John Mensah (Modena, Italy) Michael Essien (Lyon, France) Samuel Osei Kuffour (Bayern Munich, Germany) Stephen Appiah (Juventus, Italy) Emmanuel Duah (Gilvicent, Portugal) Kofi Amposah (Aek Athens, Greece) Ibrahim Tanko (Frieburg, Germany) and Christian Gyan (Feyenood, Holland). The statement asked the invited players to report to the Wangara Hotel on Friday May 28 to commence preparation towards the country's opening World Cup qualifier against neighbours Burkina Faso in Ouagadugou on June 5. It said the local contingent would be named on Monday May 31 after the Confederation of African Football (CAF) inter-club second leg matches to be played over this weekend. Ghana is zoned in Group Two with Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, Burkina Faso, South Africa and Cape Verde Islands.