ModernGhana logo
05.04.2004 Football News

Supporters of Goldfields elect new executives

Listen to article

Obuasi, April 5, GNA - Supporters of Obuasi Goldfields Sporting Club have been urged to refrain from criticising their coaches and club management and instead use their energies and resources to support the sustenance of the club and its playing body.

Mr Joe Boampong, the Adansi West District Chief Executive (DCE) who gave the advice at an emergency national congress of the supporters union at Obuasi on Saturday emphasised the need for the supporters to unite and support the club "to make Goldfields a great team in Ghana".

"With Obuasi becoming a Municipality, Goldfields as a football club should strive to become a formidable team and this should be a challenge to us all especially you the supporters", Mr Boampong stressed.

The emergency congress was necessitated by the resignation of the old executives under the chairmanship of Alhaji Mohammed Sannie.

The DCE said football is a sporting activity that could be relied upon to lift the image of the District and therefore appealed to the various SHAFTS (Supporters) to be well organised and mobilise massive support for the club.

Mr Kwasi Ofosu Anane, Chairman of the Emergency Congress Planning Committee appealed to the supporters to desist from intimidating the club officials as well as visiting teams.

He observed that the time had come for the supporters to think of how best they could offer towards the growth of the club instead of looking forward to what the club would offer to them.

Mrs Comfort Espada, the founder of Goldfields Ladies Football Club said that it was about time that ladies are roped in as national executive members of the SHAFT as they have a lot to offer the club.

At the end of the congress, Mr Ernest Buanya-Mensah, West Africa sales representative of USA-based NALCO was elected Chairman of supporters union after he polled 70 of the votes to beat the only other contestant, Mr Tony Woode who was a former national chairman of the union.

Messrs Victor Frimpong, a teacher, Kofi Musah, a transport owner and Evans Thomas Jonah, a mine captain were elected unopposed as secretary, organiser and treasurer respectively.

Join our Newsletter