ModernGhana logo
20.03.2004 General News

ECOWAS Heads of State depart

Listen to article

Accra, March 20, GNA - Heads of State who attended a one-day ECOWAS Heads of State summit in Accra have left for their various countries. The first to depart was President Olusegun Obasanjo of Nigeria, followed by Abdulai Wade of Senegal and Touani Toure of Mali. The rest are Blaise Campoare of Burkina Faso, Mamadou Tanja of Niger and Matthew Kereku of Benin and the Prime Minister of Togo, Koffi Sama.

They all took the ECOWAS salute, which was played by a detachment of Ghana Navy, made up of 96 men and two officers under the command of Lieutenant (GN) Kykno Raymond.

The summit addressed the challenges of regional integration and its rapid implementation in West Africa.