FEATURED: The Most Befitting Memorial In Honor Of The Late J. J. Rawlings...

23.01.2012 Sports News

94 Clubs to take part in the 2011-2012 Second Division League

Listen to article

Sunyani, (B/A) Jan. 23, GNA – 94 football Clubs are to take part in the 2011-2012 Second Division League competition in the Brong Ahafo Region.

The first round of the competition commenced simultaneously at all the 69 League centres on Sunday, January 15 and is expected to end on February 12.

This was contained in the tentative League fixtures released by the Regional Secretariat of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) to the GNA Sports in Sunyani on Friday, January 20.

Mr Kwabena Munufie, Secretary of the Association later told GNA Sports that all the 94 participating teams had been grouped into 10 zones to save them from traveling long distances and also to cut down financial cost to the Clubs.

He mentioned Kumapem Stars, Action United, both based in Sunyani, Nsoatreman F/C, Atuahenekrom Stars, Abesim Stars and Fiapre Union Rovers as individual teams featuring in the “Zone 1A” group.

The clubs in “Zone 1B” include Chiraa Gyako Stars, Tanoso F/C, with Soccer Stars, Aston Villa, Liberty Youth and Suncity.

“Zone 1C” comprises Chiraaman F/C from Chiraa, while Hamburg, Bectero, D.C. United and Nom F/C are all based in Sunyani, Seikwa Soccer Professors, Berekum Jah Warriors, Biadan Barcelona, Senase Adwinpa and Berekum Buffalo Stars constitute “Zone 2A”.

The five-team contestants vying for supremacy in “Zone 2B” are Jinijini Jaffa United, Seikwa Nkoraman F/C and Fetentaa All Stars, while those in “Zone Three” are Sampa United, Japekrom Mpuasuman, Adamsu Manchester United and Drobo Warriors.

Akrodie Nokia Boys, Mim Ayum F/C, of Ayum Timber Company, Goaso Nananom F/C, Hwidiem Ahafoman, Kenyase Angels and Mim Redeemers also formed part of the eight-team fighting for honours in “Zone Four”, with Kintampo Sharp Arrows, Busunya Desa All Stars, Buipe River Pool and Kintampo Top Talents also fighting it out in the “Group Five A” race.

Teams competing in “Zone Five B” include Bonte Power F/C, Krotakyi Obuoba Stars, Jema Nkwanta Annointed F/C, Ntrankro Millellium Stars and Chinihini Freedom Stars, those in “Zone Six A” include Debiso Royals, Dormaa Tottenham, Dormaa Golden Academicals and Dormaa Future Stars, while teams in “Zone Six B” include Wamfie Asuowam, Wamfie Super Lions, Wamanafo Mighty Royals and Dormaa Unity Sports Club.

Those in “Zone Seven” are Tepa Evergreens, Bomaa A.C. Milan, Dormaa Tigers and Duayaw-Nkwanta Tano Ajax, while Wenchi Heroes, Banda Mountains, Nwoase Unity Sporting Club, Nchiraa Rangers and Debibi Aku Stars are among those vying for honours in “Zone Eight”, as Tuobodom Santos, Offuman Asuokyiridi, Abofour Unique Stars, Techiman Olympics, Twimea Celtic F/C and Tromeso Young Sparrows form part of the eight team in “Zone Nine”.

Teams for “Zone Ten”, the last zone of competition are Yeji Lazio, Akuma Smiling Cosmos, Nkoranza Argentina F/C, Nyafumaman F/C of Nyafuma and Nkoranza Everton.

Mr. Munufie said at the end of the first and second rounds of the league, the winners and runners-up in each of the 10 zones would qualify for another stage of the competition before finally reaching the “middle league” stage of the competition to select the over-all winner of the marathon league to be promoted to the regional First Division status.

He urged match officials, team managers, supporters and the entire players of the various clubs to be guided by all the attributes associated with the league as ascribed by the Regional Football Association to ensure sanity at all the league centres.

“Anything short of this would be suicidal for offenders as the laws of the game would not favour them in terms of disciplinary measures”, he cautioned.


Modern Ghana Links