FEATURED: Just In: Supreme Court Stops Justice Wuni From Hearing Ken Agyapong’s ...

28.04.2009 Football News

Giggs gets PFA award

By Kofi Owusu Aduonum - Ghanaian Chronicle
Listen to article

Manchester United midfielder Ryan Giggs has won the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award for the first time in his career.

The 35-year-old Welshman beat team-mates Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Cristiano Ronaldo and Edwin van der Sar as well as Liverpool's Steven Gerrard.

Despite winning a host of honours, including 10 Premier League titles, the PFA award had eluded Giggs until now. Aston Villa forward Ashley Young took the Young Player of the Year award.

He beat his Villa team-mate Gabriel Agbonlahor, Manchester United duo Jonny Evans and Rafael Da Silva, Aaron Lennon of Spurs and Manchester City's Stephen Ireland.

Since making his League debut against Everton at Old Trafford in March 1991 aged 17, Giggs has been a key figure in Sir Alex Ferguson's teams.

As well as the league crowns, Giggs has also won four FA Cups, three League Cups and two Champions League winner's medals as well as two PFA young player awards.

Powered By Modern Ghana