FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

11.02.2009 Football News

Essien misses African gong

By Ghana FA
Essien misses African gong

Ghana's Michael Essien missed out to the Caf African Player of the Year 2008 award, as Togolese Emmanuel Adebayor received the honour.

Essien, 26, had a formidable year for country, helping Ghana to third position at the African Nations Cup and also lending a hand in Chelsea's first appearance in the finals of the UEFA Champions League but saw the Arsenal striker edging past him and Egypt's Mohamed Aboutreika to the award.

The ceremony to celebrate the achievement of the African footballer in the past year was attended by FIFA President, Joseph Sepp Blatter, UEFA President, Michael Platini, AFC President Mohamed Bin-Hamman, all who would partaking in the XXXI CAF General Assembly.

The Glo-Caf award gala decided by the votes of international coaches of the 53 national associations affiliated to CAF saw the Black Stars midfielder beating Emmanuel Adebayor of Togo and Egypt's Mohamed Aboutreika, the two other shortlisted finalists to the award.

Michael Essien was making his fourth successive final appearance at the awards, after coming second in the 2007 honours and placing third in the 2005, 2006 African Footballer of the Year events.

Winners at the Glo-CAF Awards 2008
Glo-CAF Player of the Year
Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal and Togo)
Inter-Club Player of the Year
Mohamed Aboutreika (Al-Ahly and Egypt)
National Team of the Year
Club of the Year
Al-Ahly (Egypt)
Young Player of the Year
Salomon Kalou (Chelsea and Cote d'Ivoire)
Women's footballer of the year
Alice Mattlou (South Africa)
Coach of the Year
Hassan Shehata (Egypt national team)
Order of Merit Achievement
Roger Ouegnin
Farah Addo
Orok Oyo
Fair Play Award
Cote d'Ivoire
Best Supporters Club (Club division)
Al-Ahly (Egypt)
Best Supporters Club (National teams division)
Nigeria Supporters Club
African Football Legend
Christian Chukwu (Nigeria)
Platinum Award
Umar Musa Yar'Adua, President of the Republic of Nigeria