FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

22.12.2008 Football News

All set for SWAG Awards tonight

By Daily Graphic
Listen to article

Tonight all roads will lead to the Accra International Trade Fair Centre where traditional rulers, sports personalities, high-ranking government officials, members of the diplomatic corps, among many others, will grace the 33rd Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night.

The Managing Director of  SIC, Mr Peter Osei Duah, will be the guest of honour, while the occasion will be chaired by the Ga Mantse, King Tackie Tawiah III.

The IBF bantamweight champion, Joseph Agbeko, will take giant steps to the podium to be decorated as the 2007 SWAG Sports Personality of the Year, while Black Stars triumvirate of Laryea Kingston, Michael Essien and Sulley Muntari vie for the Footballer Of The Year Award.

The National Paralympic Team has been pencilled for the Team Of The Year award, while Ransford Osei receives the Most Promising Player of the Year Award.  

Musa Narry takes home the Discovery of the Year Award, with a Special Meritorious Award going to Ataa Eddie Pappoe, while the Female Athlete of the Year award goes to Ajara Mohammed.

The rest are Dedication and Valour — John Ainoo, Professional Boxer of the Year — Joseph Agbeko, Hockey Player Of the Year (Male), Joseph Appiah, Female – Mirabel Lamptey, Handball Player Of the Year — Rozina Lomo and Cyclist Of the Year — Afful Williams.

Philanthropist Daniel Arhin, Margaret Simpson and Golden Sticks complete the list by also receiving special awards, while the Ghana Olympic Committee (GOC) and Ghana National Supporters Union (GHANSU) will also be honoured for their contributions to the development of sports in the country.

Story by Nathaniel Attoh

Modern Ghana Links