FEATURED: The Bushy Roads In The City Of Accra: Who Is Sleeping On The Job?...

25.10.2008 Football News

“Bekoe does not deserve MVP award” – Lions CEO

By gna

Heart of Lions Chief Executive, Walter Yankah has expressed discontent with the declaration of Asante Kotoko striker, Eric Bekoe as the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of 2007/2008 soccer season.

Bekoe was named MVP at the third Professional League Board awards night held on Friday ahead of team-mate Harrison Afful and former Heart of Lions striker, Dominic Adiyiah, but Yankah believed he did very little to deserve the honour.

A stirred-up Yankah told GNA Sports moments after the Kotoko striker had been presented with his VW saloon car that he is yet to fathom the criteria for deciding on the top most honour.

The Lions CEO argued that, Adiyiah who currently stars for Norwegian side, Fredrikstad FK should have won the ultimate prize following his impressive output which saw him being named man-of-the-match for an unprecedented 10 times.

“Adiyiah won the man-of-the-match 10 times against six by Bekoe. Why then does Bekoe become the winner,” he queried.

“What is the essence of the man-of-the-match award? I think there is something wrong and am really disappointed,” he said.

Yankah was emphatic that the fact that Bekoe scored the highest goals did not make him the best player; rather the Ghana Football Association (GFA) and the Professional League Board (PLB) should have done more regarding the choice of the winner.

He discarded club relations with respect to his choice of Adiyiah, being honoured meritoriously.

Incidentally, Bekoe was transferred from Heart of Lions to Asante Kotoko in the previous season.

Meanwhile, the Asante Kotoko striker has portrayed his coronation as MVP of the season as the happiest moment of his career.

“This is the happiest day in my life and I thank all who made it possible.”

Bekoe is the second Asante Kotoko player after former captain, Issa Ahmed to win the topmost award since its inception three years ago.

Israeli-based midfielder Kweku Essien was last year's winner.