FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

21.10.2008 Football News

Essien named for FIFPro award

					Essien named for FIFPro award

Essien is among the best 55 Ghana midfielder Michael Essien is among the 55 players nominated for the FIFPro World XI Players Awards.

The Chelsea enforcer is among the 21 nominess from the English Premier League, the most from a single division - closely followed by the Spanish Primera Liga, which has 18 representatives.

Chelsea head the English assault despite finishing as runners-up to Manchester United in both the Premier League and UEFA Champions League.

The Blues have eight players short-listed, while the Red Devils have seven of their stars in consideration.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side do, however, boast the favourite to take the top award, with Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo widely tipped to be named as the best player on the planet following a 42-goal haul last season.

Other British interest comes in the form of a trio of players from Liverpool, two from Arsenal and a single representative from Celtic.

Barcelona boast the most nominees, nine, while AC Milan's reigning World Player of the Year Kaka is once again in the running.

The final World XI and the FIFPro World Player of the Year will be announced on 27th October.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Artur Boruc (Poland/ Celtic), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/ Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/ Real Madrid), Petr Cech (Czech Republic/ Chelsea), Edwin van der Sar (Holland/ Manchester United)

Defenders: Daniel Alves (Brazil/ Sevilla), Jose Bosingwa (Portugal/ Porto), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy/ Real Madrid), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal/ Chelsea), Gael Clichy (France/ Arsenal), Ashley Cole (England/ Chelsea), Patrice Evra (France/ Manchester United), Rio Ferdinand (England/ Manchester United), Philipp Lahm (Germany/ Bayern Munich), Ferreira Lucio (Brazil/ Bayern Munich), Paolo Maldini (Italy/ AC Milan), Alessandro Nesta (Italy/ AC Milan), Pepe (Portugal/ Real Madrid), Carles Puyol (Spain/ Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/ Real Madrid), John Terry (England/ Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Serbia/ Manchester United), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy/ Barcelona), Javier Zanetti (Argentina/ Inter Milan), Yuri Zhirkov (Russia/ CSKA Moscow).

Midfielders: Deco (Portugal/ Barcelona), Michael Ballack (Germany/ Chelsea), Michael Essien (Ghana/ Chelsea) , Gennaro Gattuso (Italy/ AC Milan), Cesc Fabregas (Spain/ Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (England/ Liverpool), Andres Iniesta (Spain/ Barcelona), Kaka (Brazil/ AC Milan), Frank Lampard (England/ Chelsea), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/ Liverpool), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/ AC Milan), Franck Ribery (France/ Bayern Munich), Marcos Senna (Spain/ Villarreal), Wesley Sneijder (Holland/ Real Madrid), Xavi (Spain/ Barcelona).

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Russia/ Zenit St Petersburg), Dimitar Berbatov (Bulgaria/ Tottenham Hotspur), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast/ Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon/ Barcelona), Thierry Henry (France/ Barcelona), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/ Inter Milan), Lionel Messi (Argentina/ Barcelona), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland/ Real Madrid), Ronaldinho (Brazil/ Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/ Manchester United), Wayne Rooney (England/ Manchester United), Carlos Tevez (Argentina/ Manchester United), Luca Toni (Italy/ Bayern Munich), Fernando Torres (Spain/ Liverpool), David Villa (Spain/ Valencia). 

For more Ghana football news visit