FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

16.10.2008 Sports News

PLB Awards Launched

Kumasi Asante Kotoko's duo of Eric Bekoe and Harrison Afful, and former Heart of Lions striker, Dominic Adiyah, will be running neck and neck for the luxurious VW Suran 2007/08 Best Player's prize to be presented by the Vice-President, Alhaji Aliu Mahama, at the Round Pavilion of the Trade Fair Site on October 24.

The fate of the three players, nominated by coaches of the 16 Premier League clubs, will be determined by the public and the Professional League Board (PLB).

At yesterday's launch of the 3rd GFA/PLB Awards Night at the Airport West Hotel in Accra, the PLB chairman, Mr Welbeck Abra-Appiah, said the coaches had a 40 per cent share of the votes, same as the public, while the remainder went to the FA.

The same arrangement goes for the Best Defender, Best Goalkeeper and Discovery of the Season categories, all of which also require public votes to Onetouch short code 1400.

Harrison Afful has again been nominated for the Best Defender Award alongside his Kotoko teammate, Samuel Inkoom, and Heart of Lions' John Boye, while Abdoulaye Soulemana (Kotoko), Fatau Dauda (Ashantigold) and Tetteh Luggard (Zaytuna) battle for the Best Goalkeeper Award.

The Discovery of the Year nominees are petite Liberty Professionals striker, Latif Salifu, and Hearts of Oak prodigies, Kofi Abanga and Gibril Tawrik.

According to the PLB Chairman, the FA is contributing GH¢10,000 towards the cost of the vehicle, with Universal Motors picking the remaining GH¢7,000 bill.

To whet the appetite of stakeholders ahead of the prestigious event, Mr Abra-Appiah said this year's programme was an improvement over last year's, especially with the introduction of two novelty awards — Best Assistant Referee and Best Club Supporters — alongside special awards to Justice Ampiah and Justice Anin Yeboah, former President of the GFA Congress and the Chairman of the GFA Appeals Committee respectively.

He said the coaches also nominated three of their own — Bashir Hayford (Kotoko), Francis Oti-Akenten (Heart of Lions) and Fodi Omari (Zaytuna) — for the Best Coach Award, just as the Chief Executives of the various clubs nominated Kotoko's Sylvester Asare Owusu, Walter Yankah (Heart of Lions) and Alhaji Yakubu Moro (Arsenal) for the Best CEO honours.

The event was officially launched by the Deputy Minister of Education, Science and Sports, Mr Osei-Bonsu Amoah.