FEATURED: Why Yaoh Hates Your Marriage So Much!!...

18.05.2007 Football News

League awards launched

By Ghana FA
League awards launched
LISTEN MAY 18, 2007

Fourteen winners from different award categories would be declared on June 9 when the second edition of the Premier League Awards comes off.

The Professional League Board, organisers of the elite league on Tuesday launched awards which would seek to reward outstanding performers of the just ended Onetouch Premier League.

Players, coaches, referees and administrators in the past soccer season have been nominated for various awards by the PLB's technical committee.

At the launch in Accra, Welbeck Abra-Appiah, Chairman of the PLB said his outfit and the Ghana Football Association deemed it fit to recognise the achievements of all major stakeholders since the season will not have been successful without their participation.

Out of the 14, eight will be decided by public voting through SMS messages, whilst the remaining six are purely technical and will be decided by a special committee.

Among the awards to be decided by the public are, Player of the Season, Discovery of the Season, Most Improved Club, Best Behaved Venue, Defender of the season, Goalkeeper of the Season, Best Referee, Coach and Chairman of the season.

Below are the award categories:

Non Public-Voting Awards
F.A employee of the season:

Champion club:
Accra Hearts of Oak

Highest Scoring Team:
Kpando Heart of Lions

Goal king:
Emmanuel Clottey (Accra Great Olympics)

Public Votes Awards
The public has 40% and the awards committee has 60% of the power to determine the following awards

Best Player of the season:
Kwaku Essien (King Faisal)
Alhaji Sanni (AshantiGold FC)
Asamoah Kwadwo (Liberty Professionals)

Discovery of the season
Ekow Benson(Tema Youth)
Alhaji Sanni (AshantiGold FC)
Emmanuel Clottey (Accra Great Olympics)

Defender of the season:
Isaac Vorsah (Kumasi Asante Kotoko)
Jonathan Quartey (AshantiGold FC)
Yahya Mohammed (Hasaccas)

Referee of the season:
Cecil Fletcher
D. Offei
Mercy Tagoe

Most improved club of the season:
Accra Great Olympics
Kpando Heart of Lions
Ashgold FC

Most promising goal keeper of the season:
Ernest Sowah (Tema Youth)
Isaac Akrong (Gamba All Blacks)
Joseph Addo (Hasaccas)

Best behaved match center:
Karl Reindorf (Liberty Professionals)
Ho Sports Stadium (Accra Great Olympics)
Swedru Park (Gamba All Blacks)

Coach of the season:
David Duncan (AshantiGold FC)
Hans van der Plume (Kpando Heart of Lions)
Mitko Dobrev Kostadinovic (Accra Hearts of Oak)

Chairman of the season:
Kudjo Fianoo (AshantiGold)
Victor Ahiakpkor (Kpando Heart of Lions)
Eric Afotey Odai (Accra Great Olympics)

Fair play team of the season:
Fetteh Feyenoord
Kpando Heart of Lions
AshantiGold FC