12.02.2024 Cup of Nations

Full list of award winners at 2023 AFCON

Full list of award winners at 2023 AFCON
12.02.2024 LISTEN

In the culmination of the 2023 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament, Nigeria's Super Eagles faced a disappointing defeat on Sunday evening against the host nation, Cote D'Ivoire, as they surrendered the trophy.

Despite initially taking the lead with a goal by William Troost-Ekong in the first half, the Ivorian team showcased resilience in the second half.

They staged a remarkable comeback, netting two goals courtesy of Franck Kessie and Sebastien Haller. This determined effort secured the victory for the Elephants, marking their third AFCON title at the Olympic Stadium of Ebimpé.

  • Below is the list of awards given at the AFCON:

Ecobank Best Goalkeeper

  • Ronwen Williams – South Africa

Air Côte d’Ivoire Fair Play Team award

  • South Africa

Puma Golden Boot winner

  • Emilio Nsue – Equatorial Guinea (5 goals)

Puma Silver Boot winner

  • Gelson Dala – Angola (4 goals)

Puma Bronze boot winner

  • Mostafa Mohamed – Egypt (4 goals)

TotalEnergies Man of the competition

  • William Troost-Ekong – Nigeria

Best Young Player award

  • Simon Adingra – Cote d'Ivoire

Best Coach award

  • Emerse Faé – Cote d'Ivoire

Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah

Sports JournalistPage: SamuelEkowAmoasiAppiah