2021 Afcon: Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac submits final 28-man squad to CAF ahead of tournament

By Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
Cup of Nations 2021 Afcon: Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac submits final 28-man squad to CAF ahead of tournament
DEC 31, 2021 LISTEN

Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac have submitted his final squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations [Afcon] to the Confederations of African Football [CAF] today.

The Serbian trainer is expected to retain 28 players from the 30-man provisional squad named earlier this month.

CAF ahead of the tournament agreed for the expansion of the number of players for the tournament from 23 to 28 due to the effect of Covid-19.

Meanwhile, Milovan Rajevac will make available the final 28-man squad to the public before the team fly to Yaounde on January 7.

The Black Stars will be making their 23rd appearance in Cameroon and have won the championship four times in 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982.

Ghana is pitted in Group C with Morocco, Comoros and Gabon and will open their campaign against the Atlas Lions (Morocco) on January 10, 2022.

Milovan Rajevac and his charges have been charged to end the country's 40 years trophy drought in Cameroon.

The 33rd edition of the Afcon kick off from January 9 to February 6.

Below is Ghana's provisional squad:

  • GOALKEEPERS: Joseph Wolacott (Swindon Town, England), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen, Belgium), Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen, Switzerland)
  • DEFENDERS: Andy Yiadom (Reading FC, England), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC, England), Gideon Mensah (Girondins de Bordeaux, France), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC, France), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA), Khalid Abdul Mumin (Vitoria de Guimaraes, Portugal)
  • MIDFIELDERS: Baba Iddrissu (Real Mallorca, Spain), Edmund Addo (Sherif Tiraspol, Moldova), Thomas Teye Partey (Arsenal, England), Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen, China), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Daniel Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli, Germany), David Abagna (Real Tamale United), Salis Abdul Samed (Clermont Foot, France)
  • FORWARDS: Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Dreams FC), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha, Saudi Arabia), Kamal Deen Suleymana (Rennes, France), Dede Ayew (Al Sadd, Qatar), Joseph Paintsil (Genk, Belgium), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Beitar Jerusalem, Israel), Maxwell Abbey Quaye (Great Olympics), Felix Afena Gyan (AS Roma, Italy), Benjamin Tetteh (Malatyaspor, Turkey)

Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah

Sports Journalist

ModernGhana Links