29.07.2003 Sports News

ATL, Amalga Bank Give To SWAG

Listen to article

This Saturday's Sports Writers' Association's (SWAG) awards night was given an added boost yesterday with the presentation of 19 trophies from Switzerland valued at ¢12 million by Akosombo Textiles Limited (ATL) in Accra.

The company also doled out ¢10 million plus pieces of wax prints for the 20 awards winners.

Alhaji Eassah Oblitey, former player of the Black Stars and an employee of the ATL who presented the items on behalf of the company, underscored the importance of the textiles manufacturing company in providing jobs for sportsmen and sportswomen.

Last Friday, Amalgamated Bank also donated ¢5million to SWAG in support of the event. So far, three companies and two donors have made presentations in support of the awards ceremony. They include Nestle Ghana Limited, Western Union Money Transfer, Budget Cash and Carry and Effects.

Mr Ebo Quansah, President of SWAG was grateful to the company. He announced that President John Agyekum Kufuor will be the special guest of honour at the ceremony.

Ghana's sole medallist at last year's Commonwealth Games in Manchester, Margaret Simpson, would become the first woman to win the SWAG topmost award - the Sportswoman of the Year.

Simpson, 20, who won the heptathlon bronze at the Manchester Games and later gold in the African Championship in Tunisia, will also be presented with the Athlete of the Year Award.

Controversial Charles Taylor of Accra Hearts of Oak fame would be crowned Footballer of the Year as well as his female counterpart Florence Okoe of La Ladies who is also a key player of the Black Queens.

Taylor and his former team-mate Bernard Don Bortey who tied with 18 goals each at the end of last Premier League season are to receive the Joint Goal-King award. Defending league Champions, Accra Hearts of Oak take home the Top Scoring Club Award for the sixth successive year with 72 goals.

Other award winners include, Team of the Year- Black Queens, James Toney — Professional Boxer of the Year, Joseph Willington — Referee of the Year, Patrick Taylor, Male Hockey Player, Abena Asumeng Addo — Female Hockey Star, Edward Seidu Adjank Addo — Volleyball Star, Kwadwo Poku — Promising Star, Jordan Opoku — Discovery of the Year.

Nestle, NDK Financial Services, King Toney Akwetey and Nii Oko Nikoi Dzani receiving special awards.

ModernGhana Links