RMU Tennis Club Wins 2021 Asogli Tennis Tournament

By Gabriel Amoakoh 
Tennis RMU Tennis Club Wins 2021 Asogli Tennis Tournament
OCT 1, 2021 LISTEN

Regional Maritime Tennis Club (RMU), Tema put up a spirited performance to win this year's edition of the Asogli Tennis tournament.

The Regional Maritime Tennis Club who were 2019 Champions defeated host Ho Tennis Club in the final.

The three day tournament attracted the following clubs: Police Depot Tennis Club, Tesano, Regional Maritime Tennis Club and the host Ho Tennis Club.

Ho Tennis Club ousted Police Depot Tennis Club to get into the finals while Regional Maritime Tennis Club took out Tema Tennis Club.

In the semifinals match, Coach of RMU tennis club; Kenneth Fredericks Buaful, partnered Thomas Ohene Effeh to beat Chairman of Ho tennis club Cyril Bansah and Osman Kadiri 7-5.

In other semifinals, Captain of RMU tennis club; Samuel Rahman Abloh paired with Jacob Amoakoh-Hene and proved their resilience by overcoming Wise Kwame Aheto & Joseph Narcel 7-6(9).

The tournament was climaxed by a fundraiser in support of Ho teaching Hospitalâ°°s Cardiothoracic Unit. The Ho Tennis Club donated 10, 000.00 to the Cardiothoracic Center.

Mr. Joseph Dzamesi, the Chairman of the 2021 Asogli Planning Committee expressed his satisfaction with this year's tournament. He said this is the first time in four years that the rain had not disrupted the tournament.

He was particularly happy with the donation that was made towards the Cardiothoracic Center." I have a family member who has a heart-related problem and has to travel to Accra 2-3 times a month for a simple blood test. Cardiothoracic center in Ho will be a game changer and I am grateful to all in the Tennis fraternity who contributed generously towards the donation to Cardiothoracic Center."

The Tournament was sponsored by Tennis Foundation Ghana, Ho Teaching Hospital, Sonrise Christian High School, Mayanar Fabrications, Paradigm Roofing and G-Money, GCB.

Present at the 2021 Asogli Tennis Tournament were some board members of the Ghana Tennis Federation: Ismaila Nii Lante Lamptey, Jesse Ato Desbordes, Henry Boni-Quarshie and Cedric Dzelu.Tennis Foundation Ghana President Roger Crawford.

ModernGhana Links