ModernGhana logo
02.03.2002 Sports News

Results Of First 30k Biriwa Beach Hotel Walk

Listen to article

Stanley Brimah of Cape Coast (Central Region) who won Last Week’s 10K Ghana U. S. Walk has done it again in the Maiden Edition of Biriwa Beach Hotel 30K walk with the time of 2:57.05.9 ahead of 30 walkers from Accra, Kumasi, Takoradi and Cape Coast. The walk started at 6:30am on Saturday 2nd March, 2002.

In an interview with the winner, Stanley said he is not amazed at his performance since he has been with the Ace Walker Vincent Asumang for the past Twelve (12) years.

Vincent Asumang, of Ghana National Fire Service who was tipped by many to win the walk clocked 3:03.11.6 behind the winner to place second.

The third place was taken by Musah Muda of Ghana Institution of Engineers while Atta Bright of Kumasi came fourth.

The Visco Walking Club in conjunction with officials from the Sports Council has decided to do a Post-mottem of the walk so an to help the walkers to put up their best in the upcoming commonwealth games in England and World Walking Cup slated for October in Italy.

After the walk, the management of Biriwa Beach Hotel refreshed all the participants of the walk and hosted the top walkers for a night’s boarding and lodging.

The Visco Walking Club and the likes of Dr. Lamptey Ohene-Karikari and L. F. Addison of the National Sports Council thanked Biriwa Beach Hotel for promoting walking in the Country over the past ten (10) years. They also extended their gratitude to the Voltic Mineral Water, Information Service Department, Cyber City Cafe,G. P. R. T. U, Adom Cold Store at Asanti Road Cape Coast, Radio Central, ATL Fm, Radio Valco and the general public for their co-operation

Below Are The Full Results.


1st 233 Sally Stanley Brimah 2:57.05.9

2nd 205 Vincent Asumang 3:03.11.6

3rd 201 Muda Musah 3:10.57.1

4th 224 Atta Bright 3:12.09.7

5th 200 John Sebge 3:16.41.9

6th 237 Joshua Acquah 3:18.52.6

7th 231 Benjamin K. Annan 3:20.38.6

8th 253 J. N. Koufie 3:21.05.9

9th 232 Thomas Quaque 3:2140.9

10th 204 Farid Rushdy 3:24.30.8

11th 203 Awudu Malik 3:24.32.7

12th 234 Ekow Rambo 3:24.35.7

202 Yaw Fordjour Did not finish

222 Prince Frimpong "

210 Kofi Ali "

215 Charles Ansong "

219 Bright Issah "

Anthony Adjei Did not start

Addo Richard "

Robert Anyin "

Ahmed Tijani Sanni "

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter