03.01.2002 Sports News

Seventeen selected for national badminton team

Listen to article

Seventeen players have been selected to form the national badminton team to compete in the All African Senior ranking tournament scheduled for Morocco in August.

Mr Andrew A. Ocloo, General Secretary of the Badminton Association of Ghana (BAG) told the GNA Sports Desk in Accra on Wednesday that the selection was made after a recent national badminton competition organised in Accra by the BAG.

He said in all 52 players from Accra, Tema, Takoradi, and Koforidua took part in the competition. Mr Ocloo said the association intends to organise more competitions for the players before selecting a final team of six to represent the country in all categories at the Moroccan tournament, which would also serve as a preparatory grounds for the Commonwealth Games slated for Manchester, UK.

The players making the provisional squad are Theresa Tetteh, Mary Enoo, Victoria Ackon, Mary Twumwaa, Jennifer Ametewey, Issah Mohamed, Noah Ayim, and Emmanuel Williams.

The rest are Micheal Cudjoe, Anthony Arthur, Richmond Odonkor, Michael Sam, Owusu Martin, Charles Mensah, George Yeboah, A.B. Rockson, and Paul Baah.

ModernGhana Links