ModernGhana logo
29.10.2001 Sports News

Mohammed wins Route d'Accra race

Listen to article

Adnan Mohammed clocked seven minutes 12.66 seconds to win the eighth annual La Route d'Accra Cycling race held in Accra on Saturday 27 October 2001.

Emmanuel Teye Wayo, who was timed seven minutes, 15.44seconds, took the second position while the third, fourth and fifth places went to Henry Dzangmah, Joseph Annan and Emmanuel Kudjo respectively.

River Park Cycling Club won the team time trial with a finishing time of seven minutes, 14.81 seconds; All Stars placed second with a time of seven minutes, 19.72 seconds; Gutting came third, City Micro was fourth while Fire Bunch placed fifth.

About 54 cyclists took part in the one-day competition, which was sponsored by Ghana France Co-operation and the National Sports Council, with support from Wonder Foods Limited and Pens and Plastics Limited.

Brigadier George Brock, Chief Executive of the National Sports Council (NSC), said cycling, which used to be the means of transportation for most people is now a competitive sport.

He commended the French Embassy for their contribution to the development of the sport in Ghana. Brig. Brock appealed to the Embassy to extend the competition to the other parts of the country to make it a national event.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter