Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: [trailer] Anas To Drop Shocking Video On Children At Orphanage Eating ...

27.02.2006 Regional News

NGO Institutes B.A. Journalists Award Scheme


Beginning from December this year, African Media Aid (AFRIMAID), a Sunyani based non governmental media organisation, would award journalists in the Brong Ahafo Region who have contributed positively to journalism in the region and the country as a whole.

The December awards ceremony shall be in respect of work done from January to December, 2006.

There shall be twelve award categories namely, best journalist, best news editor, best female journalist, best news reporter (radio/ newspaper), best producer.

The rest are, best radio talk show presenter, best radio musical programme presenter, best radio sports presenter, best news presenter (English/ Twi).

There shall also be a special award category.

Mr Raphael Ahenu Jnr, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of AFRIMAID announced this at an executive meeting of the NGO in Sunyani.

He explained that “the yearly award is to recognise the contribution of journalists in the region towards the over all development of journalism in Ghana and the enhancement of the image of the region”.

“The award scheme is also to motivate journalists to conduct themselves professionally at all times”, he added.

According to AFRIMAID, each award winner shall receive a plague with a citation, some journalism materials, cash and others. The best journalist shall in addition, win a three week study package with a reputable media organisation outside the country.

Mr Ahenu pointed out that the awards carry more than just prizes because they signify the passion and desire of the Brong Ahafo journalist to compete and do better by telling the Brong Ahafo story in an authoritative, professional and national class manner.

Interested journalists shall be required to apply for an award by submitting their names and indicate which category they are contesting for. The application must be accompanied by eleven photocopies of any work within the award year and a CV.

Those contesting in the radio category shall be required to submit their work on a CD. An eleven member award committee shall vet all entries and accordingly select the various award winners.