ModernGhana logo
26.08.2019 NDC News

Ultimate battle yet to be won;let's unite for victory-NDC Regional Organisers urges

By Ananpansah B Abraham
Mr.Inusah Abdulai
LISTEN AUG 26, 2019
Mr.Inusah Abdulai

The Savannah Regional Organiser of the opposition National Democratic Congress(NDC), Mr.Inusah Abdulai has called on the rank and file of the party in the region to resolve all differences in the aftermath of the parliamentary primaries and unite forthwith for the bigger victory ahead.

Speaking with PAD FM's Ananpansah B Abraham after the declaration of polls,the field marshal disclosed that,the battle ahead is bigger and priceless than the battle won or lost now.

He said beyond the just ended primaries,the NDC is assigned a hefty task to emancipate the people of Ghana from the incompetent hands of the Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo-Addo led NPP government.

According to him,unity of purpose,even after,the palms and loses in the internal polls was crucial for the victory of the party in the 2020 general elections.

"We have reached the last step in our reorganisation crusade.I first and foremost wish to congratulate all candidates in the just ended election for the dogged devotion and tenacity of purpose.More power to your elbows for the peace loving and matured manner in which you conducted yourself.The NDC as a family has yet chalked another victory in our to bid to consolidate the democratic credentials of our country.I encourage all wining and loosing candidates to be magnanimous in victory and gracious in defeat respectively.We are one family.And it's a victory won for NDC.Let's immediately patch up our differences;for the battle ahead is bigger and priceless than the battle won or lost now,"he admonished.

The field marshal was optimistic that the NDC will win the 2020 elections and will need majority in parliament to run a smooth administration.

He further stated that, the NDC must retain all the six parliamentary seats it currently occupies in the region whilst,strategic measures are put in place to reclaim the Salaga South seat being occupied by the ruling NPP.

The declaration of polls yesterday,saw the incumbent Member of Parliament for Damongo constituency,who doubles as the Minority Spokesperson on Mines and Energy,hon.Adam Mutawakilu polling a convincing victory over his contender;a 46-year-old headmaster of Yagbum J.H.S,Mr.Yakubu Yussif Castro.

The legislator obtained a total of 403 votes representing 80% of the valid votes cast to beat Mr.Castro who polled 102 votes translating to 20% of the valid votes cast.Total percentage turnout was 95.7% with three rejected votes and 13 absentees(delegates).

In the Daboya/Mankarigu constituency,incumbent MP,hon.Mahama Shaibu Obei was elected parliamentary candidate after he garnered 261 votes representing 47% of the certified valid votes cast.His close contender, Mr.Timothy Dangana obtained 172 votes representing 31% of the valid votes cast,whilst the former MP for the constituency,hon.Baani Abudu Nelson placed third with a total of 123 votes translating to 22% of the valid votes cast.

Hajia Zuwera Braimah will be the face of the NDC in the Salaga South Constituency after he received an overwhelming endorsement from delegates to beat three other contenders.She polled 472 votes which translate to 56% of the total certified valid votes cast to topple her close contender,Alhaji Ibrahim Dey who obtained 260 votes representing 31% of the valid votes cast.Mr.Ahmed Shaibu Dan obtained 116 votes representing 14% of the valid votes cast to place third;then came Alhaji Lukman Jawula at the fourth position with a single vote representing 0.1% of the certified valid votes cast.

Incumbent Member of Parliament for Salaga North Constituency,hon.Alhassan Mumuni got the nod of delegates to represent the NDC to seek re-election,after he obtained a total of 308 votes translating to 86% of the certified valid votes cast to beat his only contender;Mr.Mohammed Abdulai who polled 50 votes representing 14% of the valid votes cast.

There was no election in the Yapei/Kusawgu constituency,Sawla/Tuna/Kalba constituency and Bole/Bamboi constituency as incumbent Members of Parliament;Mr.John Abdulai Jinapor,Mr.Sulemana Yussif and Mr.Andrew Dari Chiwitey respectively went unopposed.They were popularly acclamed as candidates of the party in these constituencies.

Source:Ananpansah B Abraham

Join our Newsletter