FEATURED: Re: Hon. Nenyi George Andah Was Never Hooted At Awutu Awubia Festival...

22.08.2019 NDC News

NDC Primaries: 524 To Contest In 157 Constituencies

By Staff Writer
NDC Primaries: 524 To Contest In 157 Constituencies
AUG 22, 2019 NDC NEWS

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) has announced that its upcoming parliamentary primaries will be held in 157 constituencies across the country.

524 aspirants have been cleared to contest in the polls come Saturday, August 24, 2019.

The party also says it has put on hold elections at the Asawase and Ellembelle constituencies and three other constituencies due to petitions by some of the aspirants.

Meanwhile, there will be no election in 39 constituencies where incumbent Members of Parliaments (MPs) and aspirants are contesting unopposed.

General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia who addressed the media on Wednesday gave the break down of the primaries.

Already, six aspirants in the primaries have been disqualified a few days to the polls.

The affected persons include Alhaji Ibrahim Dori (Bawku Central), Dr. King Suleyman Dima Bachiesichang (Sisala East), Alhaji Abubakar Mohammed Rabiyu (Salaga North) and Maxwell Okah Okai (Agona East).

The rest are Raphael Parku and Kwame Aduhene Kwarteng, both for the Juaboso Constituency.

Here is the full breakdown

The total number of aspirants that filed per each region:


Aspirants cleared to contest in each region:


Constituencies put on hold: