07.02.2006 NDC News

More NDC members resign from the party

07.02.2006 LISTEN

Ho, Feb. 7, GNA - Seven activists of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) including Mr Simon Cha Adza-Yao, a former Volta Regional Propaganda Secretary of the party have announced their resignations from the Party.

Mr John Kondo Jargon, Mr Pius Edoh Dogbatse, Mr Stephen Kwame Troxor, Mr Awudu Zakari, Ms Grace Agbeli and Mr John Tony Ahiagbesime, all of the Ave-Avenor constituency, cited "events that characterized the Party's constituency, regional and national congresses and aftermath," saying they indicated that the Party was at the stage of fragmentation.

"We do not foresee any possible unity in the near future, which can propel the party forward. Our only alternative is to resign our positions and membership to save our images", they said in a joint letter.

In a separate letter of resignation, Mr Adza-Yao cited "a one-man show syndrome in the Party," which he alleged manifested at constituency and regional conferences, as well as at the recent national congress in Koforidua.

"I can no longer belong to such a society, which is at the verge of collapse and wish to advise my numerous supporters and admirers to follow suit to redeem their reputation," stated Mr Adza-Yao, who until his resignation was the Vakpo Ward Chairman of the NDC.

ModernGhana Links