ModernGhana logo
18.11.2005 Regional News

Ahafo-Ano North district assembly elects Presiding Member

Listen to article

Tepa(Ash), Nov. 18, GNA - The Ahafo-Ano North District Assembly on Thursday elected Mr Bismark Francis Osei, 56, assemblyman of Asuhyiae electoral area as its Presiding member at the Second Ordinary meeting held at Tepa.

He polled 41 out of the 49 votes cast representing 83.6 per cent with six votes against him and two rejected ballot papers in an election supervised by Mr Alex Manu Sakyi, the District Electoral Officer. Mr Sam Kwaku Bensa Alomatu a Circuit Court Judge, swore Mr Osei into office.

Mr Eric Nana Agyemang Prempeh, Ahafo-Ano North District Chief Executive, expressed appreciation for democracy gaining root within the assembly.

He said it was the first time in the annals of the assembly that an elected member has become the presiding member and elected unopposed. Mr Prempeh appealed to the members to unite and make the development of the district their major priority. Mr Augustine Abu, assemblyman for Mabang, who contested with Osei withdrew on the eleventh hour.