ModernGhana logo
01.11.2005 NPP News

Ahafo-Ano North constituency of NPP elects executive

Listen to article

Tepa (Ash), Nov 1, GNA - The Ahafo-Ano North constituency of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Sunday held its delegates' congress to elect new executive officers to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

Apart from the constituency chairman that was contested by three people, the other nine executives were returned unopposed. Mr Kwabena Poku, a chemical seller at Tepa, was elected chairman with 53 votes as against the incumbent chairman and first vice-chairman, Mr Philip Kpodo and Mr Owusu Asante who had 19 and 32 votes respectively.

The other executive who were declared unopposed were Mr K. Agyeman, First Vice Chairman, Mr Musah Mohammed, Second Vice Chairman, Mr Kenneth Adu-Poku, the Secretary and Mr Kwaku Obeng Darko, the Assistant Secretary.

The rest were Mr Kofi Agyemang Akuffo, Organizer, Miss Charity Annor Frimpong, Women's Organizer, Mr Seth Hagan Mensah, Financial Secretary, Mr Johnson Ofori, Treasurer and Mr Samson Sarfo Sowah, Youth Organizer.

Addressing the delegates Mr Osei-Assibey Antwi, the Ashanti Regional First Vice-Chairman of the NPP, appealed to the new executives to work as a team and ensure that there is absolute peace and unity especially among the chairman, the District Chief Executive and the Member of Parliament for the constituency.

Mr Poku thanked the delegates for electing him and appealed to the outgoing chairman to team up with the executive to organize the party for the 2008 elections.