ModernGhana logo
28.10.2005 NPP News

Volta Regional NPP Chairman retains post

Listen to article

Kadjebi (V/R), Oct. 28, GNA - The Volta Regional Chairman of The NPP, Mr Kenwuud Nurworsu retained his position at the Party's delegates' congress held at Kadjebi on Thursday, winning 79 votes against his challenger Nana Okyere Mantey, who polled 27 votes. The Regional officials of the Electoral Commission supervised the election.

Other officials elected were Mr Charles Tetteh, first vice Chairman, Mr Makafui Woanya, second vice Chairman and Mr Eric Ntiamoah-Badu, secretary.

The rest are Elizabeth Kakpo, assistant secretary, Mr Johnson Avulete, Organizer, Mr Maxwell Blagodzi, Youth Organizer, Miss Joyce Dorkenoo, Women Organizer and Mr Charles Dzato, Treasurer. Mr Habib Mustapha, National Youth Organizer, swore them in. In his acceptance speech, Mr Nuworsu expressed his gratitude to members for the trust reposed in him and promised to work harder to win more parliamentary seats in the region.

He urged members to eschew "infighting" and rather cultivate the spirit of oneness to enable the party to organize well towards victory in 2008.

The Chairman complained about the poor financial position of the party in the region and commended Mr Tommy Amematekpor, Special Adviser to the President, and the Regional Patron of the party for his immense contribution to the party.

Mr Nuworsu urged members of the NPP in the Volta region to help win more parliamentary seats for the party in the 2008 elections. Present were Mr Haruna Esseku, National Chairman, Mr Lord Commey, National Organizer, Mrs. Agnes Okudzeto, first National Chairman and Mr Kofi Dzamesi, Volta Regional Minister.